Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Vote for your BSN Race of the Year

You’ve voted on the riders now it’s time to decide which race had you on the edge of your seat in 2022.
While the Bennetts British Superbike Championship had an electric season, one round proved unbeatable. As the paddock arrived at Thruxton in Hampshire, expectations were high for the fastest track on the calendar but what played out across Sunday left even the most die-hard fans lost for words.

The McAMS duo of Jason O’Halloran and Tarran Mackenzie shared the spoils in race two and three respectively with the latter claiming his first victory of the year as the weekend came to a close. Both races saw the Yamaha trio vying for dominance - with eventual champion Bradley Ray firmly in the mix - and while the lead switched repeatedly as the flag prepared the winner was ultimately decided by 0.079s in race two and a breathtaking 0.019s in race three.

MotoGP showcased 20 high-stake races across 2022 with multiple standout moments. Gresini’s debut race win in the premier class came at the hands of Enea Bastianini as the season opened under the lights at Lusail - only for the Italian to continue his impressive charge with three further celebrations on the top step. Aprilia, and Aleix Espargaro proved the RS-GP had arrived with the partnership’s first victory at Argentina, while Pecco Bagnaia sealed the championship with seven and fought hard across the rest.


One notable battle came at Le Mans, as an all-Italian and all-Ducati onslaught found Bagnaia and Bastianini inseparable after the more experienced of the pair launched from pole. ‘The Beast’, having dispatched Jack Miller, took charge with seven laps to go after a stunning fight with his countryman, Bagnaia bowing out early due to a disastrous final corner mistake.

As the year drew to a close, a return to Australia brought poignant celebrations when Suzuki Ecstar claimed its first race win of the season which would prove its last - the manufacturer departing the championship after a second taste of champagne at Valencia’s finale. With seven riders covered by less than a second at the Phillip Island flag, Alex Rins bettered Marc Marquez and Bagnaia to claim the spoils following a thrilling 27-lap contest. Jorge Martin launched from pole with multiple riders taking their shot out front before the determined Suzuki arrived on the final lap, for an emotional win celebrated by the entire paddock.

In WorldSBK, the summer break was book-ended by the best as the final race at Most and the first at Magny-Cours proved the most memorable. One claimed by the outgoing champion with the other secured by the new. Toprak Razgatlioglu put on a dominant display in the Czech Republic by completing a Sunday double with a pole to flag victory. The remainder of the ‘Big Three’ completing the podium after valiant efforts from Axel Bassani and Scott Redding to spoil the party.

Alvaro Bautista was back in the driving seat as the second half of the season kicked off in France. The Ducati rider claimed Saturday’s victory from Redding and Bassani after his championship rivals both fell, but remounted, in the early stages, with Loris Baz equally as unlucky at two-thirds distance. Razgatlioglu ultimately battled back to finish 11th at the flag, Baz 14th, while Rea’s forced pitlane excursion found him a lap down as the race concluded.

With 89 races run and six making the final shortlist, which gets your vote for BSN Race of 2022?
MotoGP Staff

Articles you may like


More MotoGP

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram