Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  



Young Ulsterman, Stanley Gamble wrapped up the ACU Suzuki GSX-R600 Trophy at Pembrey this weekend finishing second in race one, which was sufficient to give him the title, and he rounded out his superb season by winning the second race.

It looked like Chris Hawkes was set to dominate at the Welsh circuit as he grabbed pole position and got the hole shot off the line for race one. He simply banged in consistent laps which were 1 second faster than anyone else and set the fastest lap of the race with a time of 1min 1.96secs, a good half second clear of everyone else. He came over the line 20secs clear of second placed man Gamble.

Gamble had a battle on his hands with Ritchie Thornton who had settled into second place but he put a clean move on him and then proceeded to extend the gap. Thornton had to settle for third place on the podium.


Taryn Skinner was awarded the Express Insurance Top Gun cash award for the highest placed novice as he came home in a superb fourth place. Adam Foster was given the Relentless Rider of the day award which is awarded by the commentators to the most entertaining rider.

Foster managed a huge wheelie off the line almost crashing and actually found himself sitting on the back of the seat unit. This left him dead last but undeterred he worked through the pack to take third place. However he out did himself and crashed on lap 14 giving up his third.

The second race of the weekend had a separate qualifying session and Gamble, the newly crowned Champion, took pole position and the race win. He gapped second place man Chris Hawkes by a good 9secs with Taryn Skinner taking a fighting third place giving him his second podium finish of the season. Skinner was once again awarded the Express Insurance Top Gun cash award for the best novice ride of the day.

Ritchie Thornton had hoped for another podium to complete his season however some chassis changes between races went the wrong way for him and his tyres went off leaving Skinner to take third place.

The biggest battle of the race was between William Bergin and Ross Richards, Bergin held him off to take fifth place and also pick up the Relentless rider of the day award. Unfortunately for Richards he was disqualified for not having a transponder fitted. Joe Moore had been holding fourth place until suspension problems kicked in forcing him to retire.

Gamble has won a GSX-R1000, Richards has picked up the GSX-R600 for being the highest placed under 25-year old and Skinner has won the Express Insurance Novice of the season cash prize.

Gamble said: “As much as I knew I’d get it I was still shocked when it happened. Nothing went wrong and all the effort that we’ve put in all year paid off so it was a relief to finish the Championship. I was actually more chuffed to win the second race as I had wanted to win the first one but I got held up off the line.

“My plans for next year are to do Junior Superstock as I already know the 600 well so I don’t think I’ll be too far down the pack. I’m pleased with the times we (the top three) have been doing all season as we would have qualified for British Championship level races.

“My high point this season was not crashing, I never came off and the bike never touched the ground. All I’ve had to do is change the oil and filter and that has been it. I’ve got to thank my friends and family for all their support this year. Raymond one of my sponsors called me up to congratulate me on taking the title and told me to pack my bag as he is taking me to Valencia for the final round of MotoGP.”


Race one result:
1: Chris Hawkes
2: Stanley Gamble
3: Ritchie Thornton
4: Taryn Skinner
5: Joe Moore
6: Ross Richards
7: William Bergin
8: Colt Dwyer
9: Marcus Woodbine
10: Paul Roger

Race two result:
1: Stanley Gamble
2: Chris Hawkes
3: Taryn Skinner
4: Ritchie Thornton
5: William Bergin
6: Marcus Woodbine
7: Colt Dwyer
8: John O’Neill
9: Paul Rogers
10: Stephen Woulds

Championship standings:
1: Stanley Gamble 208
2: Chris Hawkes 180
3: Ritchie Thornton 172
4: Ross Richards 141
5: Joe Moore 113
6: Adam Foster 90
7: Taryn Skinner 84
8: Colt Dwyer 78
9: Rogerio Lacerda 74
10: John O’Neil 62

Articles you may like


More Club News

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram