Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


2022 Manx GP: Dramatic Lightweight win for Browne

Mike Browne took a dramatic Lightweight Manx Grand Prix victory on Saturday afternoon after James Hind retired on the final lap, just two miles from home.

Cut to two laps, Browne (Laylaw Racing Yamaha) made the early running and led Hind (Dennis Trollope Yamaha) by two seconds halfway round the first lap before the latter begun to get into his stride.

The 22-year old hit the front for the first time at Ramsey Hairpin, albeit by just 0.7s and with an opening lap of 117.592mph – a new MGP lap record – he led Browne by 1.856s, the Irishman also bettering the old lap record at 117.403mph.


Dominic Herbertson (115.690mph) slotted into third on his Chapman Racing Honda with Browne’s team-mate Ian Lougher (113.794mph), in fourth ahead of Daniel Sayle (113.787mph) and Stuart Hall (112.391mph).

Michael Dunlop (Crossan Motorcycles Honda) was out though and toured across the line at 106.775mph before pulling into the pits to retire with his motor running too rich.

By Glen Helen on the second and final lap, Browne had cut the gap to 1.113s but that was as close as he got as he lost time between each of the next three sectors and Sayle’s strong ride ended with a retirement at the Black Dub.

Browne continued to lose ground up the Mountain and Hind looked to have the race sewn up as he led by almost twenty seconds at the Bungalow. However, as Browne took the chequered flag, there was no sign of Hind and he was reported as having stopped between Brandish and Hillberry.

Herbertson was also out as he retired at the 33rd Milestone and it all meant Browne took the victory by 43.8s from the evergreen Lougher with a jubilant Hall coming through for third, nine seconds ahead of Rhys Hardisty (Willson and Wilding/Kaymac Yamaha).

Class regulars Chris Moore (Outhwaite Plant/Silverstar Yamaha) and Phil Harvey (CSC Racing Honda) took fifth and sixth respectively ahead of Michael Sweeney (Chapman Honda), Richard Wilson (MC Racing KTM), Gareth Arnold (Jenarracing Yamaha) and Tom Snow (Falcon Electrical Honda), Wilson taking the award for the best placed 250cc four-stroke.

2022 Dunlop Lightweight race result - conditions dry

1 7 Mike Browne Yamaha TZ250 Laylaw Racing 38:43.355 116.924 Other
2 2 Ian Lougher Yamaha TZ250 Laylaw Racing 39:27.171 114.760 Other
3 10 Stuart Hall Yamaha TZ250 Stu Hall Racing 40:21.140 112.202 Other
4 16 Rhys Hardisty Yamaha TZ250 Willson and Wilding/Kaymac 40:30.133 111.786 Other
5 15 Chris Moore Yamaha TZ250 Outhwaite Plant / Silverstar 40:40.133 111.328 Other
6 11 Phil Harvey Honda RS250 CSC Racing 40:55.674 110.624 Other
7 4 Michael Sweeney Honda RS250 John Chapman Racing 42:05.710 107.556 Other
8 29 Richard Wilson KTM 250 MC Racing 42:39.798 106.124 Finisher
9 38 Gareth Arnold* Yamaha TZ250 Jenarracing, 83 racing 42:45.409 105.892 Finisher
10 25 Tom Snow Honda NSF250 Falcon Electrical / PBR Racing 43:09.184 104.920 Finisher
11 33 Simon Hunt Yamaha T-Bike TZ250 Dennis Trollope / Pete Davies 43:11.483 104.826 Finisher
12 22 Adrian Morris Yamaha T-Bike TZ250 PVS Prestige Vehicle Sales 43:19.528 104.502 Finisher
13 20 Will Loder Yamaha TZ250 CKS Precision 43:52.791 103.182 Finisher
14 19 Richard Parker Honda RS250 John Chapman Racing 43:59.329 102.926 Finisher
15 37 Adrian Skaife Honda NSF250 Golden Site Solutions Ltd 45:19.273 99.900 Finisher
16 36 David Glover Yamaha TZ250 Yellow House / CMJ Crane Services 45:30.376 99.494 Finisher

Articles you may like


More TT and Road Racing

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram