Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


2022 Manx GP: Smith dominates for Senior win

Stephen Smith (Alasdair Cowan Racing Kawasaki) won the Senior Manx Grand Prix on Monday afternoon where, aided by a new lap record of 121.796mph, he came home 38.6s ahead of Daniel Ingham (Russell Brook/Brook Built Yamaha) with Jamie Williams (NCE Racing Honda) taking third.

Overnight rain and morning hill fog meant a two-hour delay to proceedings, and there were still several damp patches around the course when racing finally got underway at 1.30pm, but it was Williams who led David McConnachy (Peter Dobson Triumph) through Glen Helen on the opening lap by 2.3s. Smith sat in third after a slightly sluggish start.

By Ballaugh, Smith, who had set the quickest time in practice, had got into his stride and he’d taken over the lead from Williams albeit by just 0.3s. McConnachy had dropped back to third with Ingham and Chris Cook in fourth and fifth as only four seconds covered the leading five riders.


Smith extended his lead throughout the lap and with an opening lap of 120.973mph, his advantage over Williams jumped up to almost 14 seconds. Williams’ lead over McConnachy was a slender 2.2s with Ingham only 3.5s adrift. Cook, in turn, was only a further 2.9s behind with Spaniard Victor Lopez Santos running in sixth.

On lap two, Smith extended his lead through all the sectors and after lapping at 121.796mph – a new lap record – his lead was up to a commanding 37.6s as he pitted for fuel at the end of lap two. Williams was still in second but the gap to new third place man Ingham was down to 5.7s.

He only had a half second advantage over Cook with the two both lapping at more than 119mph whilst McConnachy was also well in touch, the Triumph rider only a further 1.4s in arrears. Lopez Santos still sat in sixth.

Cook lost time at the pits though and had slipped back to sixth as he took Glen Helen for the third time but Smith was having no such problems and was able to ride to his signals for the remainder of the race, the Liverpudlian taking a well deserved victory.

Behind him though, the battle for second continued to rage and Ingham gradually reeled Williams in, overhauling him for the first time at Ballaugh on the final lap. The runners up spot went all the way to the end though and it was Ingham who got the verdict at the chequered flag by the tiny margin of 0.068s.

McConnachy and Lopez Santos both lapped at more than 120mph for the first time on the fourth and final lap to take fourth and fifth with Cook, no doubt rueing his pit stop, eventually taking sixth. Tom Robinson, French newcomer Amalric Blanc, Andrew Fisher and Jack Fowler completed the top ten.

2022 Mylchreests Group Senior race result - conditions dry

1 Stephen Smith Kawasaki ZX-6R Alastair Cowan Racing 01:16:04.391 119.033 Silver
2 2 Daniel Ingham Yamaha R6 Russel Brook / Brook Built 01:16:43.001 118.034 Silver
3 10 Jamie Williams Honda CBR600RR NCE Racing 01:16:43.070 118.033 Silver
4 7 David McConnachy Triumph Daytona675R Peter Dobson Racing 01:16:48.030 117.905 Silver
5 4 Victor Lopez Yamaha T-Bike R6 Xecretia Road Racing Team 01:16:53.169 117.774 Silver
6 12 Chris Cook Kawasaki ZX-6R No sponsor 01:17:12.565 117.281 Silver
7 6 Tom Robinson Kawasaki ZX-6R Pete Stacey 01:18:41.202 115.079 Silver
8 56 Amalric Blanc* Kawasaki ZX636R Team b&m 01:18:59.147 114.643 Silver
9 5 Andrew Fisher Yamaha R6 Fisher Racing 01:19:16.157 114.233 Silver
10 52 Jack Fowler Triumph Daytona675R Fowler Racing 01:19:26.179 113.993 Silver
11 15 Samuel Mousley Yamaha YZF R6 Gwrhyd Specialist Stone Quarry 01:19:27.402 113.964 Silver
12 42 Maurizio Bottalico* Yamaha R6 Team Venditti Younix YSS Iuozzo 01:19:36.946 113.736 Silver
13 44 James Reveley Yamaha R6 PCN RACING 01:19:44.380 113.560 Silver
14 17 Radley Hughes Kawasaki ZX-6R Royal Air Force Motorsports 01:20:00.930 113.168 Bronze
15 37 Kevin Barsby Yamaha R6 Sally Nunn, Michelin, Dr Bikes 01:20:12.090 112.906 Bronze
16 29 Paul Cassidy* Yamaha R6 ISLAND FUELS 01:20:15.700 112.821 Bronze
17 16 Dennis Booth Honda CBR600RR No Sponsor 01:20:18.377 112.758 Bronze
18 28 Stuart McCann Triumph Daytona675R CSC Racing 01:20:25.148 112.600 Bronze
19 50 Lancelot Unissart Honda CBR600RR Village Motos Nantes 01:20:27.060 112.555 Bronze
20 3 Dean Osborne Honda CBR600RR TC Racing 01:20:43.479 112.174 Bronze
21 18 Gaz Evans Triumph ST675R Guardian Property Care 01:20:46.108 112.113 Bronze
22 48 Tom Snow Yamaha R6 Mark Parrett Racing 01:20:52.715 111.960 Bronze
23 23 David Brook Yamaha R6 Guildford Audio by Brook Motorsport 01:21:14.290 111.465 Bronze
24 54 Liam Chawke Kawasaki ZX-6R Carl Roberts emjess racing 01:21:18.956 111.358 Bronze
25 19 Shaun Evans Kawasaki ZX-6R No sponsor 01:21:26.257 111.192 Bronze
26 53 Lewis Arrowsmith* Honda CBR600RR Ram Safety Solutions 01:21:27.253 111.169 Bronze
27 41 Justin Collins Yamaha R6 Collins Racing 01:21:45.669 110.752 Bronze
28 20 Emmett Burke Suzuki GSXR600 Hertsmx.com 01:22:08.138 110.247 Bronze
29 31 Andy Lovett Honda CBR600RR AWL Engineering Ltd 01:22:23.190 109.911 Bronze
30 61 Daniel Forbes* Suzuki GSXR600 FB RACING 01:22:39.354 109.553 Bronze
31 66 Don Gilbert Kawasaki ZX-6R IOM Bike Storage 01:22:45.455 109.418 Bronze
32 33 Ross Orchard Yamaha R6 North cornwall motorcycles 01:22:54.746 109.214 Bronze
33 34 Yann Galli* Honda CBR600RR No Sponsor 01:23:19.188 108.680 Bronze
34 60 Paul Marley Kawasaki ZX-6R Marley Landrovers / Cowton Racing 01:23:23.586 108.585 Bronze
35 58 Adam Bauer Honda CBR600RR VRS Racing, Just-Us Racing, FTWCO 01:23:41.461 108.198 Finisher
36 49 Peter Creer Kawasaki ZX-6R Moneyshot Racing, IoM Bike Storage 01:23:45.446 108.112 Finisher
37 62 Rikki McGovern Triumph Daytona675R CIGMA Systems 01:23:45.911 108.102 Finisher
38 40 Nigel Rea Suzuki GSXR600 Mint Suzy 01:23:50.196 108.010 Finisher
39 38 Frankie Stennett* Kawasaki ZX636R ThePeoplesBike.com 01:24:24.132 107.286 Finisher
40 55 Victor Ortega Kawasaki ZX-6R KS Performance 01:24:36.467 107.026 Finisher
41 46 Benjamin Plant Kawasaki ZX-6R I.T Culliss & J.K Coatings 01:25:29.757 105.914 Finisher
42 63 Richard Duncan Yamaha R6 FFS, 2 wheel Developments 01:26:23.887 104.808 Finisher
43 43 Richard Vuillermet Kawasaki ZX-6R Ixtem Moto 01:29:57.318 100.663 Finisher

Articles you may like


More TT and Road Racing

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram