Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Immaculate Dunlop romps to 25th TT win, first to break 130mph on a 600

Tim Keeton/Impact Images
Michael Dunlop, MD Racing, Yamaha R6, 2023 TT, Supersport TT, action [credit: Tim Keeton/Impact Images]

Michael Dunlop remains on course to break his uncle Joey Dunlop's long-held all-time record for wins on the Isle of Man TT after collecting his 25th TT win in scintillating style with a record-smashing Supersport TT race win.

Putting him just one shy of matching his uncle - with three more chances to complete the feat - Dunlop's win still wrote a new significant chapter in the TT history books as he became the first rider to lap the course in excess of 130mph on a 600cc/Supersport machine.

Leading from the first sector, Dunlop was never headed throughout the duration of the four-lap encounter as he led home Peter Hickman and Dean Harrison in an unchanged podium from race one.


TT history awaits superb Dunlop

Returning to his preferred Supersport class with his sights set on making it a double on the MD Racing Yamaha R6, while another success for Dunlop in the early afternoon encounter was anticipated, it nonetheless carried with it weighty pressure.

Indeed, victory in this race puts Dunlop on the cusp of several accolades, the most notable being that 26th TT win benchmark, but also the record for most wins during a single TT event, a mantle held by Ian Hutchinson and his five wins in 2010.

Amid all of this though, it was Dunlop's searing 130.4mph lap as he brought it home to the flag that will arguably rank almost as significantly as a 27th TT win would. Indeed, not a year goes by without a mention or two of John McGuinness becoming the first rider to exceed 130mph on The Mountain in 2007, but that was on a 1000cc machine.

Roll forward 16 years and the barrier has finally been smashed with 400cc less to play with, a measure of both advancing technology, but also Dunlop's confidence within this rich vein of form. He wasn't the only rider to achieve the feat either, with Hickman setting his own 130.2mph personal best behind him.

The race itself ran at a fast pace throughout with Dunlop coming up against a stubborn Harrison initially, the Boyce Precision/Russell Racing Yamaha R6 rider gamely clinging onto the coattails of his rival through the opening lap.

However, Dunlop - as he was in his three other race-winning turns - was in fine fettle from the off, hitting Bungalow 6.5secs up on the Cumbria man. The margin remained static to the end of lap one, but began to grow through lap two as Harrison came under pressure from a momentum building Hickman.

Again hampered by a fairly leisurely start that ultimately lost him the chance to get back at Dunlop later in the race, Hickman nonetheless picked off Harrison for second mid-way through lap two but faced down a 13secs gap to the leader.

To his credit, Hickman - no doubt buoyed by getting the better of Dunlop in the Superstock race on Tuesday - pushed on, nibbling away at the margin and getting it down to less than ten seconds on the third visit to Bungalow.

While victory remained a long shot, Hickman kept up the intensity of his pace as the field began the final lap in the hope of forcing a mistake up ahead, slicing the lead down to just over 8secs come Ballaugh.


Instead, Hickman's unrelenting charge would simply spur Dunlop to find another gear, building on his advantage again through Ramsey and Bungalow. Enough to see off Hickman for good, such was Dunlop's upturn in pace that the magic - once considered unattainable - 130mph target now looked on.

And so it proved, Dunlop flashing across the line with a confirmed 130.403mph record, a tasty complement to his fourth win of what is turning out to be a career-immortalising week for the Ulsterman.

Hickman ended up 9.6s shy of Dunlop at the finish, himself making a little bit of history with his 130.219mph effort aboard the K2 Trooper PHR Triumph STR765 RS.

Harrison settled for a fourth third place finish of the week, himself having to pick up the pace late on to see off a renewed charge from Davey Todd to keep hold of his podium.


After a slow start, Todd found his groove mid-way through the race to at times lap as fast as Dunlop, a surge that enabled him to leapfrog Jamie Coward for fourth place and get to within five seconds of Harrison in third.

In the end Harrison would hold his nerve to pull out a margin again, leaving Todd to settle for another result just off the rostrum in fourth.

Coward secured another top five finish on the KTS Racing Yamaha R6, while James Hind (Bass Tyre Service Yamaha) put in a fine performance to collect a sixth, from Paul Jordan (Prez Racing Yamaha) in seventh.

Rounding out the top ten was Craig Neve (Bathams Triumph) in eighth, David Johnson (C&L Fairburn Jackson Yamaha) n in ninth and Dominic Herbertson (FW Cotton Kawasaki) in tenth.

2023 Isle of Man TT - Supersport TT Race 2 FULL RESULTS

2023 Isle of Man TT - Supersport TT Race 2 - RESULTS [Weds 7.6.23]
1Michael DunlopMD RacingYamaha R6
2Peter HickmanK2 Trooper by PHRTriumph ST765RS
3Dean HarrisonDAO RacingYamaha R6
4Davey ToddMilenco by PadgettsHonda CBR600RR
5Jamie CowardKTS RacingYamaha R6
6James HindBass Tyre ServicesYamaha R6
7Paul JordanPrez Racing by ProsperYamaha R6
8Craig NeveBathams RacingTriumph ST765RS
9David JohnsonC&L Fairburn JacksonHonda CBR600RR
10Dominic HerbertsonF.W. CowtonKawasaki ZX-6R
11Rob HodsonSMTYamaha R6
12Mike BrowneBurrows Engineering RKYamaha R6
13Shaun AndersonTeam KiboshHonda CBR600RR
14Michal DokoupilRocknetYamaha R6
15Joey ThompsonSeventy Four RacingYamaha R6
16Brian McCormackGlobal RobotsTriumph ST765RS
17Baz FurberClem DaviesKawasaki ZX-6R
18Ryan Cringle
19Forest DunnForest DunnYamaha R6
20Jonathan GoetschyGoetschy RacingYamaha R6
21Richard WilsonTeam KiboshHonda CBR600RR
22James ChawkeB&W / Lady B RacingKawasaki ZX-6R
23Stefano BonettiGomma RacingYamaha R6
24Timothee Monot
25Allan VenterLekka Racing Honda CBR600RR
26Rhys Hardisty
27Tom Weeden
28Xavier DenisPerformanX Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-6R
29Paul CassidyIsland FuelsYamaha R6
30Gary VinesAtherstone Accident RepairHonda CBR600RR
31Mark GoodingsIPG Power GenerationYamaha R6
32Martin MorrisObsession EngineeringKawasaki ZX-6R
33Paul Potchy WilliamsPotchy's MOT StationTriumph Daytona 675R
34Jorge HallidayStanford HallidayYamaha R6
35Jack PetrieAM TilingYamaha R6
36Masayuki YamanakaTeam ILRHonda CBR600RR
37David BrookBrook MotorsportYamaha R6
38Craig SzczypekOxman CarpentryKawasaki ZX-6R
DNFMichael RussellFraser Evans Tyre RecyclingKawasaki ZX-6R
DNFAmalric BlancTeam B&M / Team Gazzz 58Kawasaki ZX-6R
DNFMichael EvansAGR MotorsportHonda CBR600RR
DNFJulian TrummerWH Racing with DynobikeYamaha R6
DNFJamie CringleAGR MotorsportsHonda CBR600RR
DNFJames HIllierBoyce Precision/Russell Yamaha R6
DNFPierre Yves BianK2 Trooper by PHRTriumph ST765RS
DNFStephen ParsonsCHB SurfacingKawasaki ZX-6R
DNFPhillip CroweTruelove RacingYamaha R6
DNFMark Parrett
DNSJonathan PerryThe People's BikeHonda CBR600RR
DNSConor CumminsMilenco by PadgettsHonda CBR600RR
DNSMatt StevensonDafabet RacingYamaha R6
DNSMatthieu LagriveOptimark Road RacingYamaha R6

Articles you may like


More TT and Road Racing

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram