Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  



The first Isle of Man TT races to be held on the Billown circuit brought the curtain down on a memorable fortnight of road racing.

In brilliant sunshine fans and competitors descended on the southern track to watch the return of the Lightweight and Ultra-Lightweight TT races on Saturday afternoon.

The Isle of Man Steam Packet-backed 125cc and 250cc races were run as part of the traditional Steam Packet meeting which follows the TT.


After free practice and qualifying for the two 12-lap races, Chris Palmer secured pole position in the Ultra-Lightweight TT while Michael Dunlop took pole for the Lightweight TT race.

As soon as the red light went out at the start of the 125 race, it was Castletown’s Chris Palmer who took control. He developed an unbeatable advantage, completing the first lap three seconds ahead of long-time rival and fellow TT winner Ian Lougher. Manxman Dan Sayle, the renowned sidecar passenger, was in third.

At half distance, the Mannin Honda rider had pulled 15.8 seconds ahead of Lougher. However, at the end of the 10th lap there was a dramatic turn as Lougher stopped at Castletown Bridge with a broken chain. That let Sayle through to second and Nigel Moore into third.

That was how the race finished, with Palmer 34.4 seconds ahead of Sayle and claiming his third consecutive 125cc TT victory, having won the last two held on the Mountain Course.

For the 250cc race Dunlop was joined on the front row by Lougher and Palmer.

The 12-lap race was an incredible battle, with Palmer, Dunlop, Lougher and Ryan Farquhar all taking the lead of the race during the first six circuits.

Once Lougher was in the lead he managed to open a gap to take victory by 8.65 seconds from Farquhar and Palmer.

Dunlop, who had been at the centre of the early battle for the lead, was forced to retire on lap 10 with machine problems.

On his way to victory - his eighth TT win - Lougher also set a new lap record at an average speed of 102.321mph.


The final race of the busy Steam Packet meeting schedule was the combined 600cc and 1000cc race.

At the end of nine laps of racing it was Farquhar who took a fine victory on the Harker Kawasaki.

He was 18 seconds ahead of second placed Lougher, with Mark Buckley third. Roy Richardson took the 600cc honours.

Articles you may like


More TT and Road Racing

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram