Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


TT 2022: Hickman cruises to Superbike win

Peter Hickman added a sixth Isle of Man TT victory to his tally on Saturday, taking the Superbike race win by more than half a minute from Dean Harrison with a best lap of 133.46mph

The Gas Monkey Garage BMW rider was never headed over the six laps, opening a six-second gap over DAO Racing’s Harrison at Ramsey Hairpin on lap one and never looking back.

Harrison survived an early skirmish with Milenco by Padgett’s team-mates Davey Todd and Conor Cummins - who both retired - and a lap-four charge from Michael Dunlop to secure second with the Balleymoney man eventually third.


Dunlop, on the Hawk Suzuki, had a rough practice week and started off relatively sedately but wound up his pace as the lap ticked down, halving the gap to Harrison from 15s on lap four and targeting second. It wasn’t to be, however, as the Senior champion got the hqmmer back down to finish 18s ahead.

Legend John McGuinness started his 100th TT race from number one and admitted on the startline he ‘hadn’t the pace for these boys’ but found himself in a battle for fourth with fellow veteran Ian Hutchison. The Honda man couldn’t quite live with the BMW, slipping back to fifth.

Both benefitted from a raft of retirements, which also included Lee Johnston, but the pair were around the 129mph mark for all flying laps - not bad for a combined age of 92.

Rich OMG Yamaha’s James Hillier was involved in an on-road battle with Hutchy and Michael Rutter and lost out on sixth place to Jamie Coward, who put in late charge on his own version of the R1.

Newcomer Glenn Irwin made steady progress up to eighth place behind Hillier and also broke Hickman’s Newcomer Lap Record with a 129.85mph on lap six.

Shaun Anderson and Dominic Herbertson completed the top ten. Michael Rutter, Manx GP winner Nathan Harrison, Rob Hodson, Craig Neve and Matt Stevenson rounded out the first 15.

Phil Crowe, Brian McCormack, Michael Sweeney, Mike Browne, Derek Sheils and Xavier Denis were among the other retirees while Sam West, Stefano Bonetti and Davy Morgan didn’t start.

RST Superbike result - conditions dry

1 10 Peter Hickman BMW M1000RR GAS MONKEY BMW BY FHO RACING 01:43:58.544 130.634 Silver
2 2 Dean Harrison Kawasaki ZX-10RR DAO Racing Kawasaki 01:44:37.744 129.819 Silver
3 6 Michael Dunlop Suzuki GSXR1000 Hawk Racing 01:44:56.171 129.439 Silver
4 4 Ian Hutchinson BMW M1000RR Milwaukee BMW Motorrad 01:46:56.628 127.009 Silver
5 1 John McGuinness Honda CBR1000RR-R SP Honda Racing UK 01:47:07.411 126.796 Silver
6 12 Jamie Coward Yamaha YZF-R1 KTS Racing powered by Steadplan 01:47:07.849 126.787 Silver
7 5 James HIllier Yamaha YZF-R1N RICH Energy OMG Racing 01:47:33.288 126.287 Silver
8 22 Glenn Irwin* Honda CBR1000RR-R SP Honda Racing UK 01:47:40.140 126.153 Silver / Newcomer
9 19 Shaun Anderson Suzuki GSX-R1000R Crendon Suzuki by Hawk Racing 01:48:29.935 125.188 Silver
10 16 Dominic Herbertson BMW S1000RR Haith 01:49:00.109 124.611 Silver
11 3 Michael Rutter BMW M1000RR Bathams Ales 01:49:00.613 124.601 Silver
12 28 Nathan Harrison Honda CBR1000RR-R SP Isle of Man Steam Packet Company 01:50:05.457 123.378 Bronze
13 26 Rob Hodson Kawasaki ZX-10RR Dafabet Racing 01:50:20.522 123.097 Bronze
14 20 Craig Neve BMW S1000RR Callmac Scaffolding 01:51:32.615 121.771 Bronze
15 50 Matt Stevenson BMW S1000RR P Constantine Building Services 01:51:42.877 121.585 Bronze
16 31 Mark Goodings Kawasaki ZX-10R LMT Motorsport 01:53:20.821 119.834 Bronze
17 48 Milo Ward* Honda CBR1000RR-R SP TC Racing/DP Cold Planing 01:53:31.596 119.644 Bronze
18 43 David Jackson BMW S1000RR Action Racing 01:53:42.833 119.447 Bronze
19 30 Michael Evans BMW S1000RR Heattech Racing 01:53:55.051 119.234 Bronze
20 42 Raul Torras Martinez Honda CBR1000RR-R SP Comercial Olle / Optimark 01:54:06.294 119.038 Bronze
21 21 Brandon Cretu Honda CBR1000RR-R SP Penz13 / Totem AI / HEL Performance 01:54:08.819 118.994 Bronze
22 34 Josh Daley Kawasaki ZX-10RR Josh Daley Racing 01:54:25.762 118.700 Finisher
23 40 Michael Russell BMW S1000RR Pipewerx Exhausts 01:54:25.896 118.698 Finisher
24 38 Forest Dunn Suzuki GSX-R1000R Team Classic Suzuki 01:54:41.426 118.430 Finisher
25 52 Jonathan Perry Kawasaki ZX-10RR The People's Bike 01:54:52.620 118.238 Finisher
26 51 Timothee Monot Yamaha YZF-R1 TMR / Uggly&Co 01:55:05.284 118.021 Finisher
27 39 Julien Toniutti BMW S1000RR Martimotos / Helice Motos 01:56:52.120 116.223 Finisher

Articles you may like


More TT and Road Racing

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram