Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Vote for your BSN Roads Rider of the Year

International road racing returned in 2022 with the Isle of Man TT, North West 200, Southern 100 and Macau Grand Prix all back on the calendar as well as the Manx Grand Prix and a full Irish Championship.

FHO Racing’s Peter Hickman reaffirmed his status as the TT’s number one rider with four dominant wins in June in the Superbike, Superstock, Senior and Supertwin races as well as podium finishes in the two Supersport races. Both of those were won by Michael Dunlop who set a new 600cc lap record around the Mountain Course.

Dean Harrison, Lee Johnston, Conor Cummins, Davey Todd and Paul Jordan all took podium finishes at the TT whilst 23-time winner John McGuinness made his 100th TT start. Jamie Coward was another to impress as he took five top eight finishes to again win the Privateers Trophy.


Glenn Irwin became the TT’s fastest ever newcomer with a lap of 129.846mph on his way to eighth in the Superbike race and the Honda Racing rider took another Superbike double at the North West 200.

Hickman claimed the outright lap record at the NW200, to add to those he already holds at the TT and Ulster GP, but it was record winner Alastair Seeley who was the Man of the Meeting at Ireland’s premier road race with three more victories. Johnston, Jordan and Frenchman Pierre Yves Bian were other NW200 race winners in 2022.

Todd dominated the Southern 100, including victory in the feature Solo Championship, as well as the Armoy, Aberdare and Scarborough Gold Cup races although it was Adam McLean who won the feature race at the latter becoming just the third Irish rider, after Ryan Farquhar and Michael Dunlop, to lift the famous trophy.

The majority of races in Ireland, both North and South of the border, were fought between Michael Sweeney and Mike Browne with Sweeney winning both the Superbike and Supertwin Championships. Browne came out on top in the Supersport category and also won the Lightweight Manx Grand Prix.

Rob Hodson (Superbike), Lee Johnston (Classic Senior), Stephen Smith (Senior) and Italian Francesco Curinga (Junior) were also victorious at the August event with Finland’s Erno Kostamo taking the poorly-supported Macau Grand Prix.

With a full calendar of events to entertain and multiple stand-out rides, who gets your vote for BSN Roads Rider of 2022?

Articles you may like


More TT and Road Racing

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram