Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Aragon WSBK: Mahias takes WorldSSP win as Sofuoglu crashes

Yamaha’s Lucas Mahias took his first WorldSSP win of the year at Motorland Aragon this morning, beating Sheridan Morais across the line by 0.014s with poleman PJ Jacobsen in third place - but it was disaster for reigning champion Kenan Sofuoglu who was taken out by Federico Caricasulo who crashed in front of him.

Sofuoglu is still nursing a mashed thumb and had been tentative in the race. As he peeled into turn one on lap nine, Caricasulo highsided and the Pucetti Kawasaki man had nowhere to go but over the Italian’s GRT Yamaha and then the handlebars. both riders were taken to medical centre for checks.

It left Mahias, Morais and MV Agusta’s Jacobsen to fight for the win and Mahias took the lead on the last lap after the two Yamahas swapped some paint as the laps clicked down. Jacobsen didn’t have the pace to do anything about a pass anfd settled for third and 16 championship points.


CIA Honda’s Jules Cluzel worked his way through from a poor qualifying position and ended his day in fourth, just ahea of Michael Canducci with Roby Rolfo, who surrendered his championship lead, in sixth.

Kyle Ryde also picked up some strong points for the Puccetti Kawasaki team in eighth but it was another nightmare for Kyle Smith. The Lorini Honda man had been leading but was passed by Mahias on lap seven. He tried hold off the Frenchman and lost the front at turn 14. Smith re-mounted to finish in 16th.

Luke Stapleford ended his day in tenth with Profile Triumph team-mate Stefan Hill in 21st.

Click here for results

Articles you may like


More WorldSBK

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram