Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Donington Park WorldSSP Superpole | Bulega picks up where he left off for pole

Gold & Goose

Runaway WorldSSP Championship leader Nicolo Bulega didn't let the extended break between events stutter his form in qualifying for Round 6 of the 2023 WorldSSP season as he took pole at Donington Park.

The Italian comes into the British round armed with a sizeable 36-point lead over Stefano Manzi in the overall standings and seems well placed to extend that in today's opening race after stopping the clock at a lap record-breaking 1m 29.323secs lap.

He will share the front row with sister Ducati rider Yari Montella, while Bulega's closest series rival Manzi will get underway from third.


One of the stronger qualifying sessions of the season for the Kawasaki contingent saw the experienced Lucas Mahias - deputising for the still injured Can Oncu - place the Puccetti ZX-6R in fourth, while youngster Adrian Huertas was placed fifth on the MTM bike.

Niki Tuuli scored his and Triumph's best starting position of the year in sixth place on the PTR-run STR765 RS, with Glenn van Straalen, Federico Caricasulo and Marcel Schroetter - the highest-placed MV Agusta rider - completing row three.

Elsewhere, Tom Booth-Amos had a tumble at the Foggy Esses to blame for only managing 13th best having been in form during practice, though he was still the best placed British rider.

Tarran Mackenzie was next up, the 2021 BSB champion negating his Honda's lack of straight-line performance to go 15th, while wild-card Rhys Irwin was a fine 17th on the Astro JJR Suzuki GSX-R750.

There was also an appearance for BSB rider - and 2022 British Supersport Champion - Jack Kennedy, who steps in for Andrea Mantovani on the Evan Bros Yamaha. He was 27th fastest.

WorldSSP Donington Park | Superpole Results

2023 British WorldSSP | Donington Park | Superpole Results | Rd. 6 of 12]
1Nicolo BulegaITAAruba Racing WorldSSPDucati Panigale V21m 29.323
2Yari MontellaITABarni Spark RacingDucati Panigale V21m 29.532
3Stefano ManziITATen Kate RacingYamaha R61m 29.882
4Lucas MahiasFRAPuccetti RacingKawasaki ZX-6R1m 30.122
5Adrian HuertasESPMTM RacingKawasaki ZX-6R1m 30.125
6Niki TuuliFINDynavolt RacingTriumph STR 765 RS1m 30.212
7Glenn van StraalenNEDEAB RacingYamaha R61m 30.405
8Federico CaricasuloITAAlthea RacingDucati Panigale V21m 30.484
9Marcel SchroetterGERMV Agusta Reparto CorseMV Agusta F3 800 RR1m 30.503
10Raffaele de RosaITAOrelac Racing VerdnaturaDucati Panigale V21m 30.563
11Jorge NavarroESPTen Kate RacingYamaha R61m 30.582
12Valentin DebiseFRAGMT94Yamaha R61m 30.667
13Tom Booth-AmosGBRMotozoo ME AIR RacingKawasaki ZX-6R1m 30.775
14Bahattin SofuogluTURMV Agusta Reparto CorseMV Agusta F3 800 RR1m 30.904
15Tarran MackenzieGBRPetronas MIE RacingHonda CBR600RR1m 31.028
16Tom EdwardsAUSYARTYamaha R61m 31.210
17Anupab SarmoonTHAYamaha Thailand RacingYamaha R61m 31.233
18Rhys IrwinGBRAstro JJRSuzuki GSX-R7501m 31.310
19Nicholas SpinelliITAVFT RacingYamaha R61m 31.323
20Andy VerdoiaFRAYamaha Thailand RacingYamaha R61m 31.549
21Federico FuligniITAOrelac Racing VerdnaturaDucati Panigale V21m 31.714
22Harry TrueloveGBRDynavolt RacingTriumph STR 765 RS1m 32.206
23Alvaro DiazESPArco YARTYamaha R61m 32.312
24Eugene McManusIRLCompletely MotorbikesTriumph STR 765 RS1m 32.382
25Yuta OkayaJPNProDina RacingKawasaki ZX-6R1m 32.530
26Luke PowerAUSMotozoo ME AIR RacingKawasaki ZX-6R1m 32.652
27Jack KennedyIRLEvan Bros WorldSSPYamaha R61m 32.841
28Oliver BaylissAUSD34G RacingDucati Panigale V21m 32.846
29Max KoflerGERD34G RacingDucati Panigale V21m 32.887
30Adam NorrodinMALPetronas MIE RacingHonda CBR600RR1m 33.515
31Maiki AbeJPNVFT RacingYamaha R61m 34.975
32John McPheeGBRVince64 by PuccettiKawasaki ZX-6RNo Time

Articles you may like


More WorldSBK

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram