Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Misano WorldSBK: Aegerter takes WorldSSP Superpole with new lap record

Ten Kate Yamaha’s Dominique Aegerter continued his WorldSSP domination on Saturday with a record breaking Superpole lap at Misano.

The Swiss rider was firmly in charge, by a quarter of a second, as the qualifying session came to a close at the Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli. A quartet of home talent completed the top five with Nicolo Bulega and Lorenzo Baldassarri celebrating a front row start on home soil.

The Supersport class headed out in traditional Italian summer temperatures as the battle for Superpole began, the mixed conditions of day one firmly behind the pack.


Local riders Stefano Manzi and Bulega took charge of the initial times with low 1’38 pace before Puccetti’s Yari Montella bettered his countrymen with the first 1’37 of the morning. Manzi crashed the Dynavolt Triumph out on his second hot effort as it bounced through turn 16 next time around as series leader Aegerter set the pace out front with a 1’37.734. Evan Bros. Yamaha’s Baldassarri was on the wheels of his title rival moments later as the pair circulated 0.06s apart before the Ten Kate improved again, by three-thousandths of a second.

The defending champion refined the times once again at the halfway stage with a 1’37.520. The two Yamaha’s heading the Kawasaki of Montella and a Ducati duo as Althea’s Federico Caricasulo   led Aruba’s Bulega in the top five.

Glenn Van Straalen split the five Italians in the top seven as the second runs fired up. The EAB Yamaha holding sixth, three-quarters of a second from the target time. Turn eight threatening to dismount Can Öncü as he brought the Puccetti Ninja up to speed.

Marcel Brenner was on a charge with five to go as the VFT rider claimed fifth. Caricasulo striving for Superpole and finding second before Baldassarri demoted him to third. The Evan Bros. man was far from done, however, as the clock counted down. Bulega briefly claimed second before the number 7 crossed the line with a 1’37.504 to hold command.

The final seconds saw Aegerter back at the top with a blistering 1’37.173 to take the session and an all-time lap record. Bulega, Baldassarri, Caricasulo and Montella completed the top five with a trio of Italian tricolore ahead of Brenner, Öncü and GMT94’s Jules Cluzel with Manzi and Oli Bayliss lining up in ninth and tenth for the opening race action.

Click here for times.

Articles you may like


More WorldSBK

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram