Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Phillip Island WorldSBK: Debut WorldSSP win for Locatelli

In his first WorldSSP race, pole man Andrea Locatelli turned that startline advantage into a race win of 5.817 seconds, in what was a two-part WorldSSP race at Phillip Island.

Even with new slick tyres all round for 2020, in a wider and larger profile than the treaded tyres they replaced, it was decided to run the race with a mandatory pit stop to make sure all the riders would have no tyre issues.

Some riders transgressed the pit entrance minimum time limit after their pit stop, leaving too early and receiving various time penalties as a result.


This affected Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha), who was finally third, behind the MV Agusta of Raffaele De Rosa (MV Agusta Reparto Corse).

Off the podium, Corentin Perolari (GMT94 Yamaha) was fourth, outgunning a clearly unhappy Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing), on the top Kawasaki after Philipp Öttl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) crashed out.

Randy Krummenacher (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) was an early faller, running wide and then crashing spectacularly at the first turn.

Hannes Soomer (Kallio Racing Yamaha) was given a penalty in sixth place, as was Steven Odendaal (EAB Ten Kate Yamaha) in seventh.

New WorldSPP rider and current 300 champion Manuel Gonzalez (Kawasaki ParkinGO Team) was an impressive eighth.

Federico Fuglini (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) finished ninth and Isaac Vinales (Kallio Racing Yamaha) rounded out the top ten.

Britain’s Danny Webb was 12th.

Click here for results

Articles you may like


More WorldSBK

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram