Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


WorldSBK Aragon #2: Cluzel chases Locatelli for WorldSSP pole

Updated: Cluzel's fastest time was deleted for not slowing under a yellow, meaning he will start from fourth on the grid.

GMT Yamaha’s Jules Cluzel proved he could lay a glove on runaway WorldSSP series leader Andrea Locatelli by finishing only a tenth of a second behind the Italian in Superpole this morning.

Locatelli set three new pole records on his way to top spot, the best being 1’53.003 but Cluzel was right there on a 1’53.122 with Isaac Vinales third and a further tenth down.


Raffaele de Rosa (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) will start from fourth place after continuing to show strong pace at MotorLand Aragon, ahead of Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) and teammate Philipp Oettl. The German rider crashed at turn ten as he looked to move up the order in the closing stages of the session.

Estonian rider Hannes Soomer (Kallio Racing) will start seventh with Manuel Gonzalez (Kawasaki ParkinGO Team) in eighth place, equalling his best starting position of 2020. Steven Odendaal (EAB Ten Kate Racing) will complete the third row with Hungarian Peter Sebestyen (OXXO Yamaha Team Toth) in the top ten and continuing to show impressive form in recent rounds.

Britain’s Danny Webb finished in 13th place, again in close company with Can Oncu and Corentin Perolari.

Lachlan Epis (MPM Routz Racing Team) was the highest placed WorldSSP Challenge rider in 15th place, just ahead ofAlejandro Carranza Ruiz (EMPERADOR Racing Team). Galang Hendra Pratama (bLU cRU WorldSSP by MS Racing) finished the Tissot Superpole session strongly; bouncing back from a difficult day on Friday as the Indonesian rider qualified in 17th place.

Click here for times

Articles you may like


More WorldSBK

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram