Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


WorldSBK Assen: Aegerter recovers to win again in WorldSSP

Ten Kate Yamaha's Dominique Aegerter did it again at Assen as the Swiss rider claimed the victory in WorldSSP race two.

A rude pass in the first corner put reigning Supersport Champion and eventual winner Aegerter down the order but he would reclaim his lead and then extend it to win by 2.606 seconds from his new sparring partner, Lorenzo Baldassarri on the Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha.

Kawasaki Puccetti Racing’s Can Öncü was the rider who ran Aegerter wide, but his front-running pace was soon matched then exceeded by the two best Yamaha riders.


A first corner crash saw GMT94 Yamaha’s Jules Cluzel and race one podium finisher Glenn van Straalen (EAB Racing Yamaha) out of the 18-lap race.

Off podium, Nicolo Beluga (Aruba Racing Ducati) was just behind Öncü, but the fifth place rider, Hannes Soomer (Dynavolt Triumph Street Triple RS) was almost 18 second away from the top-four battle.

Both Triumphs improved greatly in this race, with Stefano Manzi (Dynavolt Triumph Street Triple RS) sixth, leading the top MV of Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta Reparto Corse F3 800 RR) and the second official Kawasaki of Yari Montella (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing).

Kyle Smith (VFT Racing Yamaha) was the last of the second level chasing group in ninth with Bahattin Sofuoglu (MV Agusta Reparto Corse F3 800 RR) tenth in his rookie season already.

Oliver Bayliss (Barni Spark Racing Team Ducati) was 11th.

Aegerter now leads the Championship on 95 points, Baldassarri and Bulega behind on 65 and 56 respectively.

Click here for times

Articles you may like


More WorldSBK

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram