Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


WorldSBK bosses unveil revamped 2020 calendar

WorldSBK bosses have this morning unveiled a confirmed nine-round 2020 calendar with provision for three races currently on the postponed list.

A proposal was made to the Spanish government in May to host the Spanish Round of the Championship at the Circuito de Jerez on the 31st July to 2nd August which is approved and the season will start there.

The following weekend will see the championship move to Portimal, from 7th – 9th August. The final round in August will then take place at MotorLand Aragon on the 28th – 30th, as was the previously rescheduled plan. An additional round at MotorLand Aragon has also been added, from the 4th – 6th of September.


The first ever Catalan WorldSBK Round will go ahead as planned from the 18th – 20th September, before the French Round at Magny-Cours, from the 2nd - 4th October.

Then, to be confirmed, the Argentinean Round at the Circuito San Juan Villicum remains with the dates originally planned, from the 9th – 11th October and the final round of the Championship at the Misano World Circuit “Marco Simoncelli” for the Rimini Round, from the 6th – 8th of November.

The following rounds are still to be determined (TBD): UK Round at Donington Park, Dutch Round at TT Circuit Assen and the Qatar Round at the Losail International Circuit. Further information regarding these events will be communicated in due course.

“The new 2020 WorldSBK calendar is extremely positive news. We have a calendar; we have a Championship and we are going to have great racing return, and I can’t thank all parties enough for the cooperation and coordination they’ve displayed,” said sporting director Greg Lavilla.

“To restart the season back in Spain is fitting, given the struggles that the country has faced during the pandemic. With Portimao following Jerez and then MotorLand Aragon closing the month, this can be a great return to normal for everyone.”

28 Feb. – 1 March Australia Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit X X
31 Jul. - 2 August Spain Circuito de Jerez - Ángel Nieto X X X
7 – 9 August Portugal Autódromo Internacional do Algarve X X X
28 – 30 August Spain MotorLand Aragón X X X
4 – 6 September Spain MotorLand Aragón X X X
18 - 20 September Spain Circuit de Barcelona - Catalunya X X X
2 – 4 October France Circuit de Nevers Magny-Cours X X X
9 – 11 October Argentina* Circuito San Juan Villicum X X
6 – 8 November Italy* Misano World Circuit “Marco Simoncelli” X X X
TBD United Kingdom** Donington Park X X X
TBD The Netherlands** TT Circuit Assen X X X
TBD Qatar** Losail International Circuit X X

Articles you may like


More WorldSBK

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram