Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


WorldSBK Estoril: Aegerter wins again, Smith second in WorldSSP

Ten Kate Yamaha’s Dominique Aegerter claimed his fifth WorldSSP victory of 2022 in moxed conditions at Estoril on Sunday.

VFT Racing’s Kyle Smith stormed through the pack from 17th on the grid to the runner’s up position with Lorenzo Baldassarri completing the Yamaha podium lockout on the Evan Bros. machine.   

The Supersport World Championship race saw reigning champion Aegerter in control as the race one winner headed the grid for the 18 lap contest. Niki Tuuli and Andy Verdoia both missing from the action due to injuries sustained in morning warm up in the wet conditions.


Lights out and drops of rain began to make their presence felt. Ducati’s Nicolo Bulega capturing the holeshot with Baldassarri muscling through on Aegerter and Can Öncü through the opening corner with the Puccetti Kawasaki taking third. Stefano Manzi promoted the Dynavolt Triumph into fifth before Federico Caricasulo dispatched his fellow Italian with the Althea Ducati.

Baldassarri hit the front as lap two fired up and the Yamaha took charge, Öncü finding his own way through on the former Moto2 rider shortly after with Caricasulo up to fourth on the reigning champion. Further back Yari Montella made moves on the Triumph before Manzi’s disappointing weekend came to an early conclusion with a  crash as the rain flags flew. Jules Cluzel returning with a technical as Filippo Fuligni and Sander Kroeze crashed out in tandem at turn one.

Öncü took charge on lap four as Aegerter dropped to sixth, Caricasulo running second and at the head of a quartet of Italians with Bulega, Baldassarri and Montella in check. Glenn van Straalen sat seventh on the EAB Yamaha with Adrian Huertas quickly on his wheels before the Kawasaki attempted to take a look. Ondrej Vostatek, Hannes Soomer and Oli Bayliss rounding out the top ten as Montella saved a moment on his way down the standings, to eleventh.

Caricasulo was in the lead on the Althea Ducati as lap six began before Öncü struck back through the first corner. The Italian wasn’t behind for long, however, as he pulled Baldassarri with him on the recovery next time around. The celebrations seemingly short lived as a mechanical issue denied him the dominant run.

Baldassarri led Bulega for another Italian one-two on lap seven with Öncü and Aegerter closely matched and homing in for the podium battle. Van Straalen running a solitary fifth with Huertas heading a three-rider-fight between himself, Bayliss and Vostatek in the top eight.

The leading battle was five strong as the race met half distance. Baldassarri holding off Öncü with Aegerter launching for third as Bulega was dispatched off the podium. Bayliss bringing himself into contention as 1.5s covered the top seven with nine laps left to run.

Öncü and Aegerter took charge from Baldassarri as the leading trio build a half second gap on the pack behind. Bayliss striking for fifth as van Straalen went backwards to seventh.

Eight to go and the young Australian was just adrift of the podium positions with four-tenths to find in the closing action. Bulega battling his Panigale cohort for leading Ducati honours with the world championship rookie conceding for now before regrouping for another attack.

Seven to go and it was Baldassarri back in front from Aegerter and Öncü as Smith entered the top ten and immediately rose to ninth showing impressive pace. Bayliss bettering his Italian rival next time around with Huertas placing the Kawasaki between the pair moments later.


Unai Orradre was the next to succumb to the conditions as the rain picked up, Raffaele de Rosa doing likewise at turn four.

Aegerter was in charge with five laps to go as Öncü pushed hard in second. Bulega dropping through the pack to eighth as Smith stunned to capture third with Bayliss holding on to fourth.

It was Aegerter, Baldassarri and Smith in the podium places as the pack shuffled behind. Montella regrouping to fourth before Öncü and Bayliss struck back and demoted the Kawasaki to sixth with Simon Jesperson surprising on his replacement ride from 25th to seventh.

Smith bettered Baldassarri for second on the penultimate lap as Bulega and Jespersen dropped out after a collision. Bayliss losing out to Montella and Öncü as the lap concluded on his way to sixth.


The final action found Aegerter with over a second free out front and a new fastest lap as Smith and Baldassarri battled hard for runner-up honours. Montella ready to pick up the pieces if needed but it wasn’t to be. The quartet maintained positions as the chequered flag approached with Öncü defending hard from Baylis for the top six across the line.

Huertas held seventh from van Straalen, Tom Edwards and Vostatek with Luca Ottaviani, Soomer, Peter Sebestyen, Bahattin Sofuoglu and Ben Currie collecting the final points.

Click here for times

Articles you may like


More WorldSBK

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram