Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Silverstone BSB: Seeley cruises to Supersport win

Mar-Train Yamaha’s Alistair Seeley took his seventh Motorpoint British Supersport victory of the year, taking full advantage of Smiths Triumph’s Graeme Gowland failing to finish and Billy McConnell limping home in eighth.

Gearlink Kawasaki’s Glenn Irwin took the holeshot from pole position but was quickly joined by Seeley in the battle for the win. The pair came fairing to fairing on a couple of occasions, at The Loop and Village on consecutive laps.

Gowland meanwhile was closing in on the Carrickfergus duo before running off track in to the gravel. The Northumberland rider rejoined only to pull down pit lane on the same lap and drift further backwards in the championship table.


The fight commenced for the win but it wasn’t to go down to the wire. Gearlink’s Irwin was forced to pull out due to a technical problem with just three laps remaining. That left Seeley eight seconds clear but the battle for the final podium spot was heating up behind.

Team Traction Control’s James Rispoli held second for the first time all race on the final lap before Tyco Suzuki’s Mackenzie dived through on the brakes at The Loop. The Floridian tried to get back under the Scot and salvage second but Mackenzie shut the door on him, nearly clipping the front wheel of Rispoli.

Aussie McConnell held fifth on the last lap but was shuffled backwards to eighth after struggling with a setup issue in the latter stages of the race. He now sits twenty points clear of Gowland and 38 clear of Seeley.

Mar-Train’s Seeley sits on pole for tomorrow whereas McConnell will be on the back of the fourth row and Gowland will front the fifth row.

Teccare Triumph’s Luke Mossey came through from eighteenth on the grid to finish fourth ahead of Anvil Hire TAG Triumph’s Sam Hornsey. Acumen Triumph’s Luke Jones finished in sixth, 1.2 seconds clear of Luke Stapleford in seventh.

EVO Champion Alex Olsen took the chequered flag in ninth place, top EVO rider for the fourteenth time this year, just 0.068 ahead of Luke Hedger.

Click here for results

Articles you may like


More BSB Support

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram