Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


MotoGP Aragon: Masterful Martin destroys Moto3 field

Jorge Martin extended his lead atop the Moto3 World Championship standings after hammering the entire Moto3 field for his sixth win of the season in Aragon.

With multiple penalties handed out after qualifying, Martin found himself on a front row with Jaume Masia and Aron Canet rather than Enea Bastianini with the Italian relegated to fifteenth after his penalty.

Martin took the whole shot from the first corner and that was the closest the rest of the field got to the Spaniard. After pushing from the off, Martin broke the slipstream on the first lap down the back straight and found himself over two seconds clear after just two laps.


Once his lead was in the region of seven seconds, Martin managed the gap and ended up taking the chequered flag over the battle behind by 5.984 seconds, to extend his World Championship lead to 13 points.

Behind Maritn it was a case of damage limitation for Marco Bezzecchi. The Italian qualified on the second row in sixth, but after cruising around after his lap in qualifying, he was relegated down twelve spots to 18th.

After fighting his way through to second on just the fifth lap, Bezzecchi then let settled in to save his tyres with the likes of Bastianini, Fabio Di Giannantonio, Albert Arenas and Gabi Rodrigo all fighting for the lesser podium spots.

However, with four laps to go, the Italian went back up to lead the second group and the pace of his KTM down the back straight ultimately allowed him to hold off Bastianini for 20 important points, with ‘the Beast’ having to settle for third place.

Di Giannantonio held off the advances of Marcos Ramirez, Tatsuki Suzuki and Arenas for fourth with Adam Norroin impressing to finish in eighth. Jaume Masia fought through a cracked collarbone sustained in morning warm up to finish in ninth with John McPhee rounding out the top ten.

Jakub Kornfiel was eleventh and just ahead of  Andrea Migno and Misano winner Lorenzo Dalla Porta. Nico Bulega and Vincente Perez were fourteenth and fifteenth respectively, rounding out the points.

Articles you may like


More MotoGP

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram