Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Misano WorldSSP Superpole Results | Bulega dominan, leads Ducati 1-2-3 at home


Nicolo Bulega echoed the thread unfurling in the larger Superbike class as he matched Aruba.it Ducati stablemate Alvaro Bautista by dominating proceedings in the WorldSSP class, landing pole position at Misano by +0.6s.

The runaway championship leader arrives on both his and Ducati's home soil seeking a swift bounce back to form following his first DNF of the season last time out in Spain.

No doubt inspired by the sheer performance advantage being exerted by Bautista on the Panigale V4 in the 'ton-up' class, Bulega was in similarly commanding form to steer the Ducati Panigale V2 to a new lap record of 1m 36.495secs.


Not only that, Bulega was well clear of the chasing pack too, with Federico Caricasulo emerging as his closest - albeit distant - challenger in second, more than half a second adrift.

Despite the broad margins, Ducati still locked out the top three on the grid with Caricasulo shrugging off late technical issues on the Althea machine to book his place on the front row, while Yari Montella held onto third despite a tumble at the final corner.

Up to second in the standings following Catalunya, Marcel Schroetter remains poised in fourth as he bids to close down the 33 point gap to Bulega ahead.

He is joined on the second row by EAB Yamaha's Glenn van Straalen and MV Agusta team-mate Bahattin Sofuoglu, a winner last time out for the first time in Barcelona.

Youth gives way to experience on row three with 2017 WorldSSP Champion Lucas Mahias heading it up in seventh on the Puccetti Kawasaki, ahead of season veteran Simone Corsi - the Italian impressing on only his second WorldSSP appearance this season - and Jorge Navarro, who out-qualified Ten Kate Yamaha team-mate Stefano Manzi for the first time.

Among the Brits, Tom Booth-Amos was once more the quickest of the quartet on the Motozoo ME AIR Kawasaki, albeit with work to do from 17th on the grid. John McPhee gets away just behind in 19th, while Tarran Mackenzie a row further back in 22nd on the MIE Honda and Dynavolt Triumph's Harry Truelove will get away from 29th.

Misano WorldSSP - Superpole Qualifying Results

2023 Italian WorldSSP | Misano World Circuit | Superpole Qualifying Results | Rd. 5 of 12]
1Nicolo BulegaITAAruba Racing WorldSSPDucati Panigale V21m 36.495
2Federico CaricasuloITAAlthea RacingDucati Panigale V21m 37.112
3Yari MontellaITABarni Spark RacingDucati Panigale V21m 37.357
4Marcel SchroetterGERMV Agusta Reparto CorseMV Agusta F3 800 RR1m 37.691
5Glenn van StraalenNEDEAB RacingYamaha R61m 37.720
6Bahattin SofuogluTURMV Agusta Reparto CorseMV Agusta F3 800 RR1m 37.804
7Lucas MahiasFRAPuccetti RacingKawasaki ZX-6R1m 37.845
8Simone CorsiITAAltogo RacingYamaha R61m 37.865
9Jorge NavarroESPTen Kate RacingYamaha R61m 37.983
10Niki TuuliFINDynavolt RacingTriumph STR 765 RS1m 37.993
11Stefano ManziITATen Kate RacingYamaha R61m 37.995
12Marco BussolottiITAAxon Seven TeamYamaha R61m 37.997
13Nicholas SpinelliITAVFT RacingYamaha R61m 38.177
14Adrian HuertasESPMTM RacingKawasaki ZX-6R1m 38.230
15Oliver BaylissAUSD34G RacingDucati Panigale V21m 38.282
16Andrea MantovaniITAEvan Bros WorldSSPYamaha R61m 38.676
17Tom Booth-AmosGBRMotozoo ME AIR RacingKawasaki ZX-6R1m 38.913
18Federico FuligniITAOrelac Racing VerdnaturaDucati Panigale V21m 38.938
19John McPheeGBRVince64 by PuccettiKawasaki ZX-6R1m 38.971
20Johan GimbertFRAGMT94Yamaha R61m 39.003
21Raffaele de RosaITAOrelac Racing VerdnaturaDucati Panigale V21m 39.155
22Tarran MackenzieGBRPetronas MIE RacingHonda CBR600RR1m 39.449
23Anupab SarmoonTHAYamaha Thailand RacingYamaha R61m 39.637
24Max KoflerGERD34G RacingDucati Panigale V21m 39.767
25Tom EdwardsAUSYARTYamaha R61m 39.776
26Yuta OkayaJPNProDina RacingKawasaki ZX-6R1m 39.900
27Luke PowerAUSMotozoo ME AIR RacingKawasaki ZX-6R1m 40.032
28Adam NorrodinMALPetronas MIE RacingHonda CBR600RR1m 40.290
29Harry TrueloveGBRDynavolt RacingTriumph STR 765 RS1m 40.463
30Ratthapong WilairotTHAYamaha Thailand RacingYamaha R61m 40.735
31Maiki AbeJPNVFT RacingYamaha R61m 41.164
NQAlvaro DiazESPArco YARTYamaha R61m 41.396

Articles you may like


More WorldSBK

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram