Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Which WorldSBK rider suffered the most crashes in 2023?

As the saying goes, points mean prizes, so it stands to reason that if you’re more likely to end your race picking gravel out of your boots than striding up to the podium, then you’re unlikely to achieve either.

It does mean one thing though - you have a good chance of topping the table as the WorldSBK rider who suffered the most crashes over the course of the season.

Whether you consider this a good thing probably depends on whether you view the glass as half full, half empty or upside down… it’s something we’ll have to ask our own Alex Lowes when we see him next since it was the Kawasaki Racing rider who unfortunately caused the biggest repair bill of anyone and kept medical staff busiest during the 2023 WorldSBK season.


Moreover, his 15 tallied crashes came across weekends when he made only 30 - rather than 36 - race starts.

He wasn’t the only rider to require more than one bottle of Dettol to ease those scrapes with Iker Lecuona and WorldSBK rookie Lorenzo Baldassarri also in the double figures.

Somewhat surprisingly, so was runaway WorldSBK Champion Alvaro Bautista, the Spaniard’s total of ten crashes somewhat at odds with the vast margin he enjoyed over the field in terms of wins, points and speed.

At the other end of the scale, Toprak Razgatlioglu had the honour of being the rider least likely to crash in 2023 - though if you rebranded his signature ‘Stoppies’ as just a controlled crash landing, then he’d have topped this table by a country mile.

Shout out as well to Danilo Petrucci, who fell only on three occasions in his rookie WorldSBK campaign, while Bradley Ray also comes out well in the final reckoning. 

Check out the full stats below according to WorldSBK.com

Who crashed most during the 2023 WorldSBK season?
Alex LowesKawasaki Racing Team1530
Iker LecuonaTeam HRC Honda1335
Lorenzo BaldassarriGMT94 Yamaha11R36
Alvaro BautistaAruba Racing Ducati1036
Jonathan ReaKawasaki Racing Team936
Garrett GerloffBonovo Racing BMW936
Loris BazBonovo Racing BMW935
Michael van der MarkROKiT BMW924
Michael Ruben RinaldiAruba Racing Ducati836
Dominique AegerterGYTR GRT Yamaha7R36
Xavi ViergeTeam HRC Honda736
Eric GranadoPetronas MIE Honda7R21
Axel BassaniMotocorsa Ducati636
Remy GardnerGYTR GRT Yamaha6R35
Oliver KonigOrelac Kawasaki629
Philipp OettlTeam Go Eleven536
Scott ReddingROKiT BMW536
Tom SykesPuccetti Kawasaki / ROKiT BMW518
Andrea LocatelliPata Crescent Yamaha436
Tito RabatPuccetti Kawasaki 421
Bradley RayMotoxracing Yamaha4R24
Danilo PetrucciBarni Spark Ducati3R36
Isaac VinalesTPR by Vinales Racing Kawasaki224
Toprak RazgatliogluPata Crescent Yamaha236

Articles you may like


More WorldSBK

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram