Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


BSB Oulton Park Race 3 Results | Glenn Irwin resists Haslam for hard-fought win

Impact Images / Tim Keeton

Glenn Irwin claimed honours in the final British Superbike Championship (BSB) race of the weekend at Oulton Park, the BeerMonster Ducati resisting the persistent attentions of Leon Haslam to get the win by just 0.062s and with it the overall lead.

Dicing it out for much of the race with Haslam on the ROKiT BMW M 1000 RR, though the 2018 BSB Champion briefly nosed ahead with six laps remaining, a cool Irwin soon struck back before calmly holding his form in a sprint to the flag, with Kyle Ryde producing an impressive late charge to complete the podium.

Andrew Irwin came from the second row of the grid to lead into Old Hall on the opening lap and he retained the lead all the way round the lap, brother Glenn slotting into second ahead of Josh Brookes (FHO Racing BMW), Haslam, Tommy Bridewell on the second BeerMonster Ducati and Kyle Ryde (LAMI OMG Racing Yamaha). Danny Kent was out though, having ran on into the gravel at Druids on his Lovell Kent Racing Honda.


Haslam got up the inside of Brookes at Old Hall at the start of the second lap and Glenn Irwin pulled the same move on Andrew next time around as less than a second covered the leading seven riders in the early stages.

At the start of lap four the order was Glenn Irwin, Andrew Irwin, Haslam – who had a six-place grid penalty due to having incorrect gear ratios - Brookes, Bridewell and Peter Hickman, the latter overhauling Ryde and half way round the lap, Bridewell pushed Brookes back to fifth.

Haslam moved up to second on the sixth lap at the expense of Andrew Irwin and the front eight, which also included Christian Iddon on the Oxford Products Racing Ducati, had now opened up a significant gap over ninth placed Lee Jackson (Cheshire Mouldings Kawasaki) whilst further back, double race crasher Jason O’Halloran had climbed up to 13thon the McAMS Yamaha.

By lap nine, half race distance, Glenn Irwin and Haslam had begun to edge away and Bridewell was quick to spot the danger, moving by Andrew Irwin at Old Hall. Brookes remained in fifth ahead of Ryde, Hickman and Iddon.

Glenn Irwin and Haslam had a three-quarters of a second advantage over Bridewell as the race entered its second half but by the end of lap 11, the trio were running together as Bridewell set the fastest lap of the race at 1’34.532. They were more than a second clear of the next trio which was now headed by Brookes with Ryde pushing Andrew Irwin back further to sixth.

Haslam grabbed the lead at Old Hall at the start of lap 12 and in trying to hold him off Glenn Irwin ran wide which handed second place to team-mate Bridewell. The positions reversed though at the end of the lap and all the time Brookes and Ryde were reeling them back in.

Indeed, it was a five-rider battle for the lead by lap 13 and Glenn Irwin re-took the lead at Hizzy’s with Ryde taking fourth from Brookes at the same time. Hickman looked secure in sixth with Andrew Irwin and Iddon fighting over seventh.

As the race entered its final stages, Brookes had been dropped slightly and it looked to be a four-horse race for the win with Glenn Irwin continuing to keep his pursuers at bay whilst Ryde was having his best ride of the weekend as he took third from Bridewell at Hizzy’s with two laps to go.

No-one was able to get close enough to Glenn Irwin on the final lap though and he held off Haslam on the run in to the line to take his second win of the season and with it the championship lead. Ryde took third from Bridewell with Brookes fifth and Hickman sixth.


Iddon just got the better of Jackson for seventh with Andrew Irwin dropping back to ninth and it was O’Halloran who completed the top ten after a last lap, last corner move on Dean Harrison, the latter also losing a place to Storm Stacey on the run to the line. Jack Kennedy, Charlie Nesbitt and Davey Todd completed the top 15.

BSB Oulton Park Race 3 Results [Rd.2]

2023 British Superbike Championship [BSB] | Oulton Park | Race 3 Results | Round 2 / 11
1Glenn IrwinGBRBeerMonster PBMDucati Panigale V418 Laps
2Leon HaslamGBRROKiT BMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR+0.062
3Kyle RydeGBRLAMI OMG RacingYamaha R1+0.357
4Tommy BridewellGBRBeerMonster PBMDucati Panigale V4+1.053
5Josh BrookesAUSFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR+2.665
6Peter HickmanGBRFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR+6.628
7Christian IddonGBROxford RacingDucati Panigale V4+8.191
8Lee JacksonGBRCheshire Mouldings FS-3Kawasaki ZX-10RR+8.332
9Andrew IrwinGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+11.580
10Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMSYamaha R1+22.438
11Storm StaceyGBRStarline RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+22.548
12Dean HarrisonGBRDAO RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+22.701
13Jack KennedyIRLMar-Train RacingYamaha R1+26.379
14Charlie NesbittGBRMasterMac by HawkHonda CBR1000RR-R+32.121
15Davey ToddGBRMilenco by PadgettsHonda CBR1000RR-R+23.231
16Bradley PerieGBRVisionTrack RacngKawasaki ZX-10RR+34.594
17Max CookGBRCheshire Mouldings FS-3Kawasaki ZX-10RR+34.646
18Tim NeaveGBRMcAMSYamaha R1+35.081
19Luke MosseyGBRTactix L1 RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+36.030
20Luke StaplefordGBRLAMI OMG RacingYamaha R1+40.712
21Hector BarberaESPTAG RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+41.089
22Jack ScottGBRRapid CDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+48.708
DNFTom NeaveGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R
DNFLiam DelvesGBRRapid CDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR
DNFDanny KentGBRLovell Kent RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R
DNSBrian McCormackIRLRoadhouse Macau / FHOBMW M 1000 RR
DNSJosh OwensGBRCrendon by HawkHonda CBR1000RR-R
DNSMichael DunlopGBRHawk RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram