Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


BSB Silverstone FP2 Results | O'Halloran ends day one in P1 from Haslam

Jason O'Halloran, McAMS Yamaha, Yamaha R1, 2023 BSB, BSB R1 Silverstone - Tim Keeton

Jason O’Halloran ended the second Bennetts British Superbike Championship free practice session quickest at a sunny Silverstone on Friday afternoon, the McAMS Yamaha rider just getting the better of Leon Haslam (ROKiT BMW) by 0.040s. Kyle Ryde, quickest in the opening session, placed third on the LAMI OMG Racing Yamaha.

Ryde was the first to show his hand with a lap of 53.863s, going two tenths quicker next time around and it was he and Andrew Irwin who made the early running with O’Halloran in third, the latter two immediately quicker than the time they’d set in the opening session earlier in the day.

However, the session was only five minutes old when the red flag came out after Irwin went down at Maggots, just as he’d set the quickest time through sector one. The Honda rider was uninjured but would miss the remainder of the session.


When the session resumed, brother Glenn was an early mover gaining three places on the BeerMonster Ducati to go sixth quickest overall behind Ryde, Andrew Irwin, O’Halloran, Tommy Bridewell and Haslam.

Charlie Nesbitt, a faller earlier in the afternoon, was black flagged with smoke coming from his MasterMac by Hawk Racing Honda whilst on track Josh Brookes (FHO Racing BMW) crept into the top ten, two places behind team-mate Peter Hickman with the impressive Jack Kennedy (Mar-Train Racing Yamaha) sandwiched in between.

The Aussie then leapt to the top of the timesheets with a 53.523s, which put him 0.022s ahead of Ryde but it remained tight with less than a tenth of a second covering the top four and only two tenths covering the top eight.

At the halfway point of the 40-minute session, Brookes continued to lead the way, but it quickly changed with Haslam’s lap of 53.283s sending him a healthy 0.240s quicker than his fellow BMW rider.

He wasn’t the only mover either and Christian Iddon, running at the lower end of the top twenty on the Oxford Products Ducati, jumped up 16 places to slot into second, which pushed Brookes back down to third. Ryde responded to move back into second and the top six now read Haslam, Ryde, Iddon, Brookes, Andrew Irwin and O’Halloran. Further back, Danny Kent moved into the top ten for the first time.

Kennedy was the next to make a significant impression and although the top six stayed the same, the Irishman was up to seventh with eight minutes remaining. At the same, Josh Owens (Crendon Honda by Hawk Racing) fell at Brooklands.

O’Halloran pushed Andrew Irwin down to sixth with four minutes to go but the Yamaha rider wasn’t done there and next time around, a lap of 53.243s sent him quickest, a slender 0.040s quicker than long time pace setter Haslam. Ryan Vickers was out of luck though, falling at Becketts.

Glenn Irwin pushed his brother down another spot in the final couple of minutes and with the red flag coming out in the dying moments, Liam Delves (Rapid CDH Kawasaki) having stopped in a dangerous position, there were to be no further changes in the top five with O’Halloran staying top from Haslam, Ryde, Brookes and Iddon.

Glenn Irwin ended sixth, one place ahead of team-mate Bridewell, with Danny Buchan, Andrew Irwin and Kennedy completing the top ten

2023 BSB | Silverstone | FP2 Results

2023 British Superbike Championship [BSB] | Silverstone | FP2 Results | Round 1 / 11
1Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMSYamaha R153.243
2Leon HaslamGBRROKiT BMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR53.283
3Kyle RydeGBRLAMI OMG RacingYamaha R153.389
4Josh BrookesAUSFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR53.470
5Christian IddonGBROxford RacingDucati Panigale V453.480
6Glenn IrwinGBRBeerMonster PBMDucati Panigale V453.498
7Tommy BridewellGBRBeerMonster PBMDucati Panigale V453.548
8Danny BuchanGBRSynetiq TAS RacingBMW M 1000 RR53.554
9Andrew IrwinGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R53.564
10Jack KennedyIRLMar-Train RacingYamaha R153.598
11Danny KentGBRLovell Kent RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R53.686
12Peter HickmanGBRFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR53.738
13Ryan VickersGBRLAMI OMG RacingYamaha R153.738
14Hector BarberaESPTAG RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R53.745
15Lee JacksonGBRCheshire Mouldings FS-3Kawasaki ZX-10RR53.901
16Davey ToddGBRMilenco by PadgettsHonda CBR1000RR-R53.906
17Tom NeaveGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R53.922
18Josh OwensGBRCrendon by HawkHonda CBR1000RR-R53.954
19Luke MosseyGBRTactix L1 RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR53.996
20Tim NeaveGBRMcAMSYamaha R154.102
21Storm StaceyGBRStarline RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR54.113
22Charlie NesbittGBRMasterMac by HawkHonda CBR1000RR-R54.202
23Jack ScottGBRRapid CDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR54.249
24Dean HarrisonGBRDAO RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR54.285
25Bradley PerieGBRVisionTrack RacngKawasaki ZX-10RR54.287
26Max CookGBRCheshire Mouldings FS-3Kawasaki ZX-10RR54.303
27Liam DelvesGBRRapid CDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR54.379
28Luke HopkinsGBRNP MotorcyclesKawasaki ZX-10RR56.104

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram