Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


BSN's Top 10 BSB Riders of the Year: 7th - Jason O'Halloran

Jason O'Halloran, McAMS Yamaha, Yamaha R1, 2023 BSB, Silverstone, grid, portrait credit - Tim Keeton Impact Images

Before we bid a final farewell to the year that was 2023 and begin gazing ahead to the year that will be 2024, BSN  looks back at the 2023 British Superbike Championship to bring you our rundown of the Top 10 BSB Riders of the Year. 

In seventh, we have Jason O’Halloran…

MotorcycleYamaha R1
Overall Classification6th
Points365.5 points
Best Results1st [x5 Rd.3 Donington Park, Rd. 7 Thruxton, Rd.10 Donington Park]


We won’t lie, there was a good portion of us willing Jason O’Halloran on to win the 2023 BSB title - you just feel he deserves it a little more than most, no?

Alas, the champions’ trophy remains elusive for the Australian following a 2023 campaign that never really got going and rather too quickly saw him slip from a lofty pre-season position towards the top of the bookies’ odds to rank outsider.

In a year that saw the venerable Yamaha R1 give away its erstwhile edge over the competition to Ducati, O’Halloran found himself absorbed back into the pack and appeared a touch rusty when it came to elbow-to-elbow combat.

A rider whose smooth, fluid riding style makes him almost unbeatable on his day when he is out front - especially when married to the Yamaha with its sweet, agile handling - alas ruder rivals would often bully him down the order when the going got tough.

That’s not to say it was a disappointing season, O’Halloran giving a timely reminder of his quality with dominant trio of wins at Thruxton, while he was also twice a winner at Donington Park - only Tommy Bridewell, Glenn Irwin and Kyle Ryde took more trips to the top of the podium in 2023.

However, after a double DNF during Round 2 at Oulton Park left him with ground to make up, O’Halloran never really featured in the title reckoning thereafter.

Even so, sixth in the standings remained a solid swansong return for his Raceways (McAMS) Yamaha squad, its exit from BSB syphoning O’Halloran at possibly the right time to try something new at FS-3 Kawasaki in 2024.

BSN’s Top 10 BSB Riders of 2023

8 - Charlie Nesbitt


9 - Josh Brookes

10 - Danny Kent

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram