Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Donington BSB: Race weekend stats, facts and pub ammo

Donington Park has hosted at least one round of the British Superbike Championship every year since the inaugural season in 1996, with the exception of 2010 when no round was held.

The track has held the opening round of the season on five previous occasions – 1996, 1997, 2001, 2015 and 2017.

Shane Byrne (2003, 2008, 2012, 2014, 2016 and 2017) and Josh Brookes (2015) are the only former BSB Champions in this year’s entry list.


There are 13 previous race winners in this year’s entry with a total of 192 wins between them – Shane Byrne (84), Josh Brookes (36), Leon Haslam (31), James Ellison (15), Michael Laverty (10), Peter Hickman (4), Tommy Bridewell (2), Luke Mossey (2), Jake Dixon (2), Dan Linfoot (2), Richard Cooper (1), Jason O’Halloran (1) and Glenn Irwin (1).

Byrne has won the most races at Donington with eight victories, followed by Niall Mackenzie and John Reynolds (both 6) and Chris Walker, Michael Rutter, Ryuichi Kiyonari and Leon Haslam (all 4).

Byrne took his first ever BSB win at Donington Park in 2002. His victories span a 14-year period from 2002 to 2016.

Reynolds has taken the most podiums (16) followed by Byrne (15), Haslam (11), Walker (10), Mackenzie and Steve Hislop (both 9) and Rutter, James Haydon, and Kiyonari (all 8).

Apart from 2016, Leon Haslam has scored a double podium at every Donington Park BSB round he’s competed at (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2017).

Christian Iddon has finished on the podium in each of the last two years (third in race one, 2016 and third in race two, 2017)

Out of the 2017 field, four riders have previously won BSB races at Donington – Byrne (8), Haslam (4), James Ellison (2) and Josh Brookes (2).

Leon Haslam won both races in 2017 – the other podium finishers were Luke Mossey and Christian Iddon (race one) and Josh Brookes and Glenn Irwin (race two).

Haslam led the most number of laps (19) followed by Brookes (14) and James Ellison (9).


Haslam took the maximum number of points (50) with Mossey (31), Brookes and Iddon (29), Irwin (26) and James Ellison and Peter Hickman (both 21) the next highest points scorers.

2017 was the first year a rider has scored no points at the first round (Byrne) but gone on to win the title.

The lap record currently stands at 1m28.896s, 100.72mph and was set by Shane Byrne in 2016.

The fastest lap recorded last year was by Leon Haslam in race 2 at 1m29.085s, 100.51mph.


However, the ideal lap – taken from the best five sector times over the course of the three days – was 1m28.557s, 100.82mph.

The best sector times were recorded by James Ellison (sectors 1 and 3), Leon Haslam (sector 2) and Josh Brookes (sectors 4 and 5).

The fastest speed recorded through the speed trap all weekend was by Glenn Irwin, in race one, at 167.7mph.

Five riders will make their BSB debuts at Donington this weekend – Tarran Mackenzie, Sylvain Barrier, Gino Rea, Mason Law and Carl Phillips.

Ducati is the most successful manufacturer at Donington Park with 25 wins followed by Yamaha (11), Kawasaki (7), Suzuki (6), Honda (5) and BMW (2).

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram