Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Oulton Park BSB Race 1 | Glenn Irwin slashes gap to Bridewell with victory

Glenn Irwin took the opening British Superbike Championship win of the weekend at Oulton Park on Saturday afternoon, the BeerMonster Ducati rider delivering the perfect result for the team after the loss of team owner Paul Bird.

Irwin led from the start and was shadowed all the way by team-mate Tommy Bridewell but after he ran on at Hizzy’s on the final lap, Lee Jackson (Cheshire Mouldings Kawasaki) took second ahead of Leon Haslam (ROKiT BMW Motorrad Team). Victory saw Irwin cut Bridewell’s championship lead to just 7.5 points.

It was Irwin who grabbed the holeshot from Bridewell and Kyle Ryde (LAMI OMG Racing Yamaha) and that was the order at the end of the opening lap, Irwin’s lead over his team-mate just over half a second.


The order behind was Haslam, Jackson and Josh Brookes (FHO Racing BMW) after Storm Stacey (Starline Racing Kawasaki) crashed out at Lodge whilst Ryde’s team-mate Ryan Vickers was also in trouble after being hit with a ride through penalty for jumping the start.

Bridewell halved the deficit second time around with a lap of 1’33.812 and the Ducati riders were beginning to edge away from Ryde, Haslam and Jackson. Indeed, Irwin and Bridewell were more than a second clear of new third-placed rider Haslam as they started lap four whilst further back Jack Kennedy (Mar-Train Racing Yamaha) crashed out.

There continued to be little to choose between Irwin and Bridewell, the gap just 0.105s after five laps, with Haslam holding off the close attentions of Ryde and Jackson. Brookes ran in sixth ahead of Christian Iddon (Oxford Products Ducati) and Jason O’Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) whilst Luke Stapleford was another faller with Vickers pulling off the circuit before he got given the black flag for failing to take his ride-through.

Jackson moved head of Ryde on lap six and both the Kawasaki rider and Haslam had cut the gap to the leaders from 1.3s to a second with Ryde losing ground at half race distance.

By lap eight, Irwin continued to lead Bridewell, the gap between the two hovering around one tenth of a second but Haslam and Jackson were reeling them in with 2018 champion Haslam now only half a second adrift of Bridewell.

Indeed, at the start of lap ten it was very much a leading quartet with just 0.6s covering the four riders and Jackson made a move on Haslam at Old Hall Corner to take over third. However, Irwin continued to keep them all at bay.

Going into the final lap, it was a three-way fight for victory between Irwin, Bridewell and Jackson but with Irwin running slightly wide on the exit of Old Hall, Bridewell edge ahead for the first time. Irwin was back in front at Island, but Bridewell’s hopes of victory then disappeared when he got into Hizzy’s too hot and had to run straight on.

Irwin duly took his seventh win of the season, 0.390s ahead of Jackson with Haslam completing the podium in third as Bridewell dropped back to fourth. Brookes overhauled Ryde for fifth in the closing stages with Iddon, O’Halloran, Peter Hickman and Charlie Nesbitt completing the top ten.

2023 British Superbike Championship [BSB] | Oulton Park | Race 1 Results
P/sRiderNati.TeamMotorcycleLap Time
1Glenn Irwin🇬🇧BeerMonster PBMDucati Panigale V412 Laps
2Lee Jackson🇬🇧Cheshire Mouldings FS-3Kawasaki ZX-10RR+0.390
3Leon Haslam🇬🇧ROKiT BMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR+1.085
4Tommy Bridewell🇬🇧BeerMonster PBMDucati Panigale V4+2.148
5Josh Brookes🇦🇺FHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR+5.975
6Kyle Ryde🇬🇧LAMI OMG RacingYamaha R1+6.215
7Christian Iddon🇬🇧Oxford RacingDucati Panigale V4+6.746
8Jason O'Halloran🇦🇺McAMSYamaha R1+10.169
9Peter Hickman🇬🇧FHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR+20.237
10Charlie Nesbitt🇬🇧MasterMac by HawkHonda CBR1000RR-R+20.277
11Max Cook🇬🇧Cheshire Mouldings FS-3Kawasaki ZX-10RR+20.748
12Davey Todd🇬🇧SYNETIQ BMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR+21.119
13Bradley Perie🇬🇧VisionTrack RacngKawasaki ZX-10RR+21.233
14Tom Neave🇬🇧Honda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+22.251
15Franco Bourne🇬🇧Honda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+24.675
16Jack Scott🇬🇧Rapid CDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+34.228
17Hector Barbera🇪🇦TAG RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+44.730
18Brayden Elliott🇦🇺DAO RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+44.841
19Michael Dunlop🇬🇧Crendon by HawkHonda CBR1000RR-R+44.971
DNFLewis Valleley🇬🇧Rapid CDH RacingBMW M 1000 RR
DNFRyan Vickers🇬🇧LAMI OMG RacingYamaha R1
DNFLuke Stapleford🇬🇧McAMSYamaha R1
DNFJack Kennedy🇮🇪Mar-Train RacingYamaha R1
DNFLuke Mossey🇬🇧Tactix L1 RacingBMW M 1000 RR
DNFStorm Stacey🇬🇧Starline RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram