Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Silverstone BSB: Race weekend facts, statistics and pub ammunition

Race weekend statistics, facts and pub ammunition for the Silverstone Bennetts British Superbike round

This year will be only the second time the Silverstone National circuit had been used for a British Championship race, the first time coming in 2019.

With Knockhill not being used this year, the Silverstone National circuit is the shortest (1.64miles) to be used on the 2020 BSB calendar.


The Silverstone National circuit is the second fastest currently visited by the BSB Championship with the current lap record standing at 109.14mph (54.109s). This was set by Jake Dixon in race one in September 2018.

Silverstone has held a round of the British Superbike Championship every year since 1998.

The 46 BSB races previously held at Silverstone have seen 23 different winners and 38 different podium finishers.

Last year’s BSB round at Silverstone saw two maiden winners in Tarran Mackenzie and Josh Elliott.

Glenn Irwin and Dan Linfoot also took their first ever BSB wins at Silverstone, in September 2017.

Josh Elliott’s win last year is the last time Suzuki won a BSB race.

Out of this year’s BSB entry, five riders have previously been victorious at Silverstone – Josh Brookes (4 wins) and Peter Hickman, Glenn Irwin, Tarran Mackenzie and Dan Linfoot (all 1 win).

The McAMS Yamaha duo of Tarran Mackenzie and Jason O’Halloran qualified in first and second at Silverstone last year.

Christian Iddon took his maiden British Superbike Championship victory last time out at Snetterton and, in doing so, became the 53rd rider to win a BSB race.


Josh Brookes took his 50th BSB victory at Snetterton to move joint second, with Ryuichi Kiyonari, on the all-time winner’s list.

With 45 points, Silverstone was Tarran Mackenzie’s most successful meeting in 2019.

Josh Brookes failed to score a point at Silverstone last year.

Peter Hickman scored four points at Silverstone in 2019, his worse meeting of the 12-round Championship.


Glenn Irwin has scored more points in the first six races of 2020 than he did in the entire 2019 season.

Irwin’s two podium finishes at the last round at Snetterton saw him move on to a career total of 17 and overhaul James Whitham, Dan Linfoot and Peter Hickman (all 16) on the all-time list.

Ryuichi Kiyonari is the most successful rider at Silverstone with six wins, followed by Josh Brookes and Leon Haslam (both 4) and Troy Bayliss, Shane Byrne, Michael Rutter and Alex Lowes (all 3).

Double race wins have been taken at Silverstone by Troy Bayliss (1999), Ryuichi Kiyonari (2006 and 2007), Alex Lowes (2012), Josh Brookes (2015) and Leon Haslam (2018), the latter taking all three wins that were held that year.

Shane Byrne has taken the most BSB podiums at Silverstone (14) followed by Josh Brookes (12), Ryuichi Kiyonari (10), John Reynolds (9), Leon Haslam (7), Michael Rutter and Michael Laverty (both 6) and Chris Walker, Steve Hislop, Gregorio Lavilla and James Ellison (all 5).

Tarran Mackenzie took his maiden BSB podium at Silverstone, in September 2018.

Ducati is the most successful manufacturer at Silverstone with 14 wins followed by Honda (12), Kawasaki, Yamaha and Suzuki (all 6) and BMW (2).

Kawasaki won all three of the races that were held at Silverstone in 2018, the last time they won at the circuit.

The last win for Yamaha at Silverstone was in 2019 with Tarran Mackenzie.

Josh Elliott gave Suzuki their last win at Silverstone in 2019.

Honda’s last win at Silverstone was in 2017 with Dan Linfoot.

Ducati last won a race at Silverstone in 2017 with Glenn Irwin.

BMW were last victorious at Silverstone in 2016 with Michael Laverty.

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram