Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Snetterton BSB: Race weekend stats, facts and pub ammo

With his double victory at Knockhill, Jake Dixon became the 44th rider to win a BSB race and 70th to stand on the podium.

Jason O’Halloran’s first, and to date only, BSB victory came in the first race at Snetterton in 2016.

With first and third, Shane Byrne was the highest points scorer (41) at last year’s meeting just ahead of Dan Linfoot (40), who took two second place finishes.


Billy McConnell (fourth) and Jake Dixon (sixth) both scored their best result of the 2016 season at Snetterton.

Snetterton was one of only four rounds in 2016 where Leon Haslam failed to stand on the podium at least once.

Snetterton was the only round in 2016 where James Ellison failed to finish either race.

The Snetterton 300 circuit was first used for BSB in 2011.

The current lap record is held by Shane Byrne (Ducati), who lapped at 1m47.414s in the first race of 2016.

Out of this year’s entry, only five riders have previously tasted victory at Snetterton - Shane Byrne, Josh Brookes, John Hopkins, Michael Laverty and O’Halloran.

Byrne has won six of the last eight races held at Snetterton.

Honda is the most successful manufacturer at Snetterton with 12 wins, followed by Ducati (11), Yamaha (8), Suzuki (7) and Kawasaki (5).

Honda, Kawasaki and Ducati have all taken wins in the last two years but Suzuki’s last victory at Snetterton was in 2011 with John Hopkins. Yamaha last took the top spot in 2012 with Tommy Hill.


The double victory has been done at Snetterton on nine occasions – James Whitham (1996), John Reynolds (2001), Sean Emmett (2002), Ryuichi Kiyonari (2006 and 2007), Leon Camier (2009), Josh Brookes (2010) and Shane Byrne (2014 and 2015).

When Brookes did the double in 2010, three races were held with Kiyonari taking the third race win.

Shane Byrne is the most successful rider at Snetterton with eight wins followed by Ryuichi Kiyonari (7), John Reynolds (5), Leon Camier (3) and James Whitham, Chris Walker, Sean Emmett and Josh Brookes (all 2).

Byrne has also recorded the most podiums (15) followed by Reynolds and Brookes (both 12), Kiyonari and Walker (both 8), Michael Rutter (7), Tommy Hill (6) and Niall Mackenzie, Steve Hislop and Michael Laverty (all 5).


Haslam has never won a BSB race at Snetterton and last stood on the podium there in 2007.

All statistics taken from 1996 onwards

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram