Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Thruxton BSB: Race weekend stats, facts and pub ammo

Race weekend stats, facts and pub ammunition for this weekend’s Bennetts British Superbike round at Thruxton:

With the exception of 2020, Thruxton has held a round of the BSB Championship every year since 1996, a total of 51 races.

The 51 races have seen 22 different race winners and 44 different riders stand on the podium.


With a current lap record of 113.61mph, Thruxton is the fastest circuit in use on the BSB calendar.

This weekend will see three former World Champions on the grid – Tom Sykes (WSB, 2013), Tito Rabat (Moto2, 2014) and Danny Kent (Moto3, 2015).

Jason O’Halloran took his 20th career BSB win at the previous round at Brands Hatch to move into 12th overall on the all-time winner’s list.

The Australian now has 59 BSB podiums which places him joint 11th, with Sean Emmett, on the all-time list. He’s four adrift of the top ten with Tommy Bridewell (63) currently occupying tenth place.

O’Halloran has won five of the last seven races and has finished on the podium in the last nine races, never finishing lower than second.

Yamaha have now won 11 of the 15 races to take place so far in 2022.

Tarran Mackenzie’s wins at Brands Hatch were the first time a rider with the number one plate has won a BSB race since August 2012 when Tommy Hill won at Cadwell Park.

Josh Brookes (9) has taken the most number of BSB wins at Thruxton followed by Shane Byrne (8), Niall Mackenzie (5), Gregorio Lavilla (4), Jason O’Halloran (3) and James Haydon, Michael Rutter, Ryuichi Kiyonari, Leon Camier and Michael Laverty (all 2).

All of O’Halloran’s wins came in 2021.

Only one of Leon Haslam’s 46 career BSB wins has been taken at Thruxton, in 2018.


Andrew Irwin took his first ever BSB win in the opening race at Thruxton in 2019. It was also his first ever BSB podium.

Josh Brookes scored four consecutive wins at Thruxton in 2014 and 2015.

Shane Byrne has the highest number of podiums (15) at Thruxton followed by Josh Brookes (14), Michael Rutter (11), Steve Hislop, Gregorio Lavilla, Ryuichi Kiyonari and Peter Hickman (all 7) and Niall Mackenzie (6).

Peter Hickman’s first BSB podium came at Thruxton in 2011 and he’s taken more podiums at the Hampshire venue (seven) than at any other BSB circuit. That equates to a third of his career 21 BSB podiums.


Tarran Mackenzie, Christian Iddon, Danny Buchan and Danny Kent have all only ever taken one podium at Thruxton, all of them coming in 2021.

Luke Mossey took his first ever BSB podium at Thruxton in 2015 with Glenn Irwin achieving the same landmark in 2016, Andrew Irwin in 2019 and Danny Kent in 2021. Kent’s is his only BSB podium to date.

The double victory has been achieved at Thruxton on 10 occasions, the riders being Niall Mackenzie (1997 & 1998), Shane Byrne (2003 & 2012), Ryuichi Kiyonari (2005), Gregorio Lavilla (2006 & 2007), Leon Camier (2009) and Josh Brookes (2014 & 2015).

Jason O’Halloran, in 2021, is the only rider to take three BSB wins in a single meeting at Thruxton.

Christian Iddon is set to make his 200th BSB race start in the opening race at Thruxton.

Kyle Ryde will make his 75th BSB race start in the third race this weekend.

Rory Skinner is scheduled to make his 50th BSB race start in the second race this weekend.

The current lap record was set in race one in 2019 with Josh Brookes lapping at 1m14.655s, 113.61mph.

The fastest ever lap at Thruxton was set by Shane Byrne, in 2016, with a lap in Q2 of 1m13.843s, the only time a rider has dipped below 1m14s.

Ducati is the most successful manufacturer at Thruxton with 18 wins followed by Yamaha (17), Honda (8), Suzuki and Kawasaki (both 3) and BMW (2).

Yamaha’s last wins at Thruxton came in 2021 with Jason O’Halloran taking all three wins.

Honda’s last win at Thruxton was in 2019 when Andrew Irwin was victorious.

Ducati’s last win at Thruxton was in 2019 with Josh Brookes.

BMW’s last race victory at Thruxton came in 2017 with Peter Hickman.

Suzuki’s last win came in 2012 with Josh Brookes.

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram