Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Thruxton BSB: Race weekend stats, facts and pub ammo

Thruxton has held a round of the MCE British Superbike Championship every year since 1996, a total of 42 races.

Shane Byrne has the record number of wins at Thruxton with 8 followed by Josh Brookes (6), Niall Mackenzie (5), Gregorio Lavilla (4) and James Haydon, Michael Rutter, Ryuichi Kiyonari, Leon Camier and Michael Laverty (all 2).

Byrne also has the most number of podiums (15) followed by Rutter (11), Brookes (10), Lavilla, Kiyonari and Steve Hislop (all 7) and Mackenzie (6).


Laverty took his only win in 2016 at Thruxton and with second in the other race, the 45 points made it his most successful meeting of the year.

Laverty (18) and Byrne (13) were the only riders to lead laps in 2016.

Peter Hickman’s first BSB podium came at Thruxton in 2011 when riding the Tyco Honda.

Luke Mossey and James Westmoreland took their first ever BSB podiums at Thruxton in 2015 with Glenn Irwin achieving the same landmark in 2016. It remains Westmoreland’s only BSB podium.

Brookes did the double at Thruxton in both 2014 and 2015. The Australian’s first ever BSB also came at Thruxton, in 2010.

Other double victories have been taken by Niall Mackenzie (1997 & 1998), Ryuichi Kiyonari (2005), Gregorio Lavilla (2006 & 2007), Leon Camier (2009) and Shane Byrne (2003 & 2012).

Jakub Smrz had his best result of 2016 at Thruxton, taking ninth in the first race.

Martin Jessopp also had his best result of the year at Thruxton in 2016, taking tenth in race one.

Leon Haslam had his worst result of 2016 at Thruxton, finishing a lowly 13th in race one.


James Ellison has yet to win at Thruxton whilst his last podium came in 2013.

Haslam is another rider never to have won a BSB race at Thruxton with his only podiums coming in 2006.

Laverty scored the most points (45) in the two races held in 2016 followed by Jason O’Halloran (30), Mossey (29) and Byrne (25).

The current lap record was set in race one last year with Byrne lapping at 1’14.753s.


Byrne’s pole position time in 2016 was 1’14.315s but the Be Wiser Ducati rider set the fastest ever lap of Thruxton in Q2 with a lap of 1’13.843s, the only time a rider has dipped below 1’14s.

However, the ideal lap from last year was 1’13.786s, with Byrne having the fastest time in each of the three sectors – 25.655s (sector 1), 19.897s (sector 2) and 28.234s (sector 3).

The fastest speed through the speed trap in 2016 was recorded by Alastair Seeley (RAF Regular & Reserve BMW) at 154.6mph.

Ducati and BMW both won races in 2016 with Yamaha’s last victories coming in 2015 when Brookes did the double.

Kawasaki’s last win came in 2013 when Byrne did the double whilst Suzuki’s came in 2012 with Brookes.

2012 was also the last time Honda won at Thruxton with Ian Lowry taking victory on the Padgetts-backed machine. It was the Ulsterman’s only BSB win.

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram