Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Thruxton BSB: Race weekend stats, facts and pub ammo

Thruxton has held a round of the BSB Championship every year since 1996, a total of 44 races.

Double victory at the last round at Brands Hatch saw Josh Brookes become only the fourth rider in BSB history to score more than 3000 points. The other riders are Shane Byrne, Michael Rutter and John Reynolds.

Brookes now has a total of 38 career BSB wins, the third highest ever behind Shane Byrne (85) and Ryuichi Kiyonari (50).


Brookes also has the third highest number of podiums, 112, which places him behind Byrne (189) and John Reynolds (115).

Danny Buchan has now started 75 BSB races.

Along with Snetterton, Thruxton is the only circuit on the current calendar where Leon Haslam hasn’t won a BSB race.

James Ellison is another rider yet to win at Thruxton whilst his last podium came in 2013.

Josh Brookes scored four consecutive wins at Thruxton in 2014 and 2015 and has won five of his last six races at the venue, all on Yamaha machinery.

The Australian’s first ever BSB victory also came at Thruxton, in 2010.

Michael Laverty’s last BSB victory was at Thruxton in 2016. He scored just three points at the meeting last year.

Shane Byrne has the record number of wins at Thruxton with 8 followed by Josh Brookes (7), Niall Mackenzie (5), Gregorio Lavilla (4) and James Haydon, Michael Rutter, Ryuichi Kiyonari, Leon Camier and Michael Laverty (all 2).

Byrne also has the most number of podiums (15) followed by Brookes and Rutter (11), Brookes (10), Lavilla, Kiyonari and Steve Hislop (all 7) and Mackenzie (6).


Peter Hickman’s first BSB podium came at Thruxton in 2011 when riding the Tyco Honda. He won the second race at the venue last year, his fourth career BSB victory.

Hickman (45) scored the most points at last year’s meeting followed by Jake Dixon (36), Josh Brookes and Leon Haslam (both 25), Christian Iddon (24) and Jason O’Halloran (21).

Luke Mossey took his first ever BSB podium at Thruxton in 2015 with Glenn Irwin achieving the same landmark in 2016.

Martin Jessopp scored his best result of 2017 at Thruxton with sixth place in race two.


The double victory has been achieved at Thruxton on ten occasions, the riders being Niall Mackenzie (1997 & 1998), Shane Byrne (2003 & 2012), Ryuichi Kiyonari (2005), Gregorio Lavilla (2006 & 2007), Leon Camier (2009) and Josh Brookes (2014 & 2015).

The current lap record was set in race one in 2016 with Shane Byrne lapping at 1m14.753s.

Jake Dixon claimed pole position in 2017 with a time of 1m14.052s but Byrne set the fastest ever lap of Thruxton in Q2 in 2016 with a lap of 1m13.843s, the only time a rider has dipped below 1m14s.

Ducati is the most successful manufacturer at Thruxton with 17 wins followed by Yamaha (13), Honda (7), Suzuki (3) and Kawasaki and BMW (both 2).

Yamaha (Brookes) and BMW (Hickman) both won races in 2017.

Ducati’s last win at Thruxton was in 2016 with Shane Byrne.

Kawasaki’s last win at Thruxton was in 2013, also with Byrne.

Suzuki’s last win came in 2012 with Josh Brookes. This is the same year when Honda last won at the Hampshire circuit, Ian Lowry taking victory on the Padgetts-backed machine. It was the Ulsterman’s only BSB win.

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram