Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


SSTK Silverstone Race 1 | Alex Olsen escapes for Superstock win

Alex Olsen claimed the spoils in the opening Pirelli National Superstock Championship at Silverstone, the Cumins by Team IWR Honda rider coming home almost a second clear of Franco Bourne (Marvel HCL Motorsport Honda) and Billy McConnell (C&L Fairburn Properties/Jackson Racing Honda).

It was pole sitter Dan Linfoot (Optimum Bikes Racing Honda) who led the field at the completion of the opening lap with Bourne, Olsen, Joe Francis (STAUFF Fluid Power Kawasaki), McConnell and Richard Kerr (AMD Motorsport Honda) hot in his wheel tracks, the latter having gained five places from 11th on the grid. The top three remained the same next time around but McConnell moved up to fourth at the expense of Francis.

Olsen grabbed second from the impressive Bourne – having his first ride in the class – on lap three and a lap later, the leading three riders had opened up a half second gap over McConnell with the Australian holding a similar advantage over Francis who still had Kerr in close company. Indeed, the Irishman took over fifth place on the fifth lap.


Lap six saw change at the head of the field as Olsen took the lead from fellow Honda rider Linfoot and the latter was then pushed back another spot a lap later by Bourne. McConnell remained in fourth but only six tenths of a second covered the leading four riders after seven laps.

At half race distance, it was a clear four-rider battle for the win with Kerr now two and a half seconds adrift of McConnell, but it was Olsen who continued to lead the way, his lead over Bourne after 14 laps 0.331s.

Bourne had halved that gap by lap 17 and at the start of lap 18, McConnell nipped up the inside of Linfoot on the way into Copse. Further back, Kerr had opened up a second gap over Joe Talbot (JR Performance Racing Honda) with Francis having dropped back to seventh.

Despite the pressure he was under, Olsen continued to hold sway and he wasn’t to be denied, going on to take the win from Bourne by 0.828s with McConnell and Linfoot just a tenth of a second further back.

Kerr had a lonely ride into fifth with Talbot doing the same in sixth whilst the top ten was completed by Lews Rollo (IN Competition Aprilia), Ben Luxton (Ben Luxton Racing Honda) and former Champion Alastair Seeley (Synetiq BMW).

2023 SSTK Silverstone | Race 1 Results [Top 15]

2023 National Superstock Championship [SSTK] | Silverstone | Race 1 Results | Round 1 / 11
1Alex OlsenGBRCumins by Team IWRHonda CBR1000RR-R22 Laps
2Franco BourneGBRMarvel HCL MotorsportHonda CBR1000RR-R+0.828
3Billy McConnellAUSC&L Fairburn Jackson RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+0.942
4Dan LinfootGBROptimum Bikes RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+1.055
5Richard KerrIRLAMD MotorsportHonda CBR1000RR-R+5.663
6Joe TalbotGBRJR Performance RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+7.035
7Joe FrancisGBRSTAUFF GR MotorsportKawasaki ZX-10RR+10.687
8Lewis RolloGBRIN CompetitionAprilia RSV4+11.844
9Ben LuxtonGBRBen Luxton RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+13.855
10Alastair SeeleyGBRSYNETIQ TASBMW M 1000 RR+16.226
11David AllinghamGBRMilenco by PadgettsHonda CBR1000RR-R+20.275
12Matt TrueloveGBRTAG RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+22.234
13Joe Sheldon-ShawGBRForward Vision RacingSuzuki GSX-R1000+23.633
14Ash BeechGBRJames Dorling RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+23.677
15Kade VerweyGBRTeam XG RacingBMW M 1000 RR+23.826

CLICK for full results by TSL-Timing

Articles you may like


More BSB Support

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram