Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Facts and statistics for the Misano MotoGP round

Here are some pre-race Misano MotoGP facts and statistics for your reading pleasure


The first grand prix event to take place at Misano was in 1980; the 500cc race was over 40 laps of the circuit that measured 3.448 km and ran in an anti-clockwise direction and was won by Kenny Roberts.


The Misano circuit hosted a GP event for a total of ten occasions between the years of 1980 and 1993.

Misano did not have a grand prix event for thirteen years following the accident that ended the career of Wayne Rainey in 1993.

When GP racing returned to Misano in 2007, it was on a much revised 4.18 km circuit running in the opposite direction to the earlier layout.

There have been eighteen previous San Marino Grand Prix events. The first San Marino Grand Prix was held at Imola in 1981. Three different circuits have hosted the San Marino Grand Prix - Imola twice (1981 & 1983), Mugello four times (1982, 84, 91 and 93) and Misano on twelve occasions (1985, 86, 87 and from 2007 onwards).

Yamaha have been the most successful manufacturer in MotoGP since the grand prix series returned to Misano in 2007 with six victories. Honda have had a two MotoGP win at the Misano circuit during this period and Ducati a single victory.

Ducati have had just three podium finishes in the MotoGP class at Misano: 2007 - Casey Stoner - 1st, 2008 - Toni Elias - 3rd, 2012 - Valentino Rossi - 2nd.

Suzuki has had two podium finishes in the MotoGP era at Misano circuit, both of which came in 2007 when Chris Vermeulen finished second and John Hopkins third. This was the last occasion that Suzuki have had two riders on a grand prix podium.

The win by Marc Marquez last year was the first for Honda at Misano since 2010 and followed four successive wins for Yamaha at this circuit.

The most successful riders at Misano since racing returned to the circuit in 2007, each with four victories, are Jorge Lorenzo (1 x 250cc, 3 x MotoGP) and Marc Marquez (1 x 125cc, 2 x Moto2, 1 x MotoGP).


Dani Pedrosa’s victory in 2010 is the last time that the MotoGP race at Misano was won by a rider starting from pole position.

Last year’s MotoGP podium at Misano was: Marc Marquez, Bradley Smith and Scott Redding - the first MotoGP podium where all three of the riders had graduated from the Moto2 class.

Articles you may like


More MotoGP

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram