Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Italian MotoE Qualifying | Ferrari pips Casadei to home soil pole at Mugello

Gold and Goose

Matteo Ferrari has taken pole position for round two of the 2023 MotoE World Championship season on his home soil of Mugello.

The Italian - the inaugural MotoE World Cup winner back in 2019 - was arguably the standout performer during the opening round at Le Mans, scoring a dominant victory in the second race of the weekend despite having to serve a long-lap penalty.

It is momentum he has carried through to his home event at Mugello, Ferrari topping both Practice sessions on the Felo Gresini bike before doing enough with his first time attack in Q2 to secure pole position.


It was a close run thing though with HP Pons Los40 rider Mattia Casadei a mere 0.008s behind his countryman to take second, while Eric Granado completed the front row in his first appearance of the year for LCR following a spell on the sidelines through injury.

2019 WorldSSP Champion Randy Krummenacher headed up the Dynavoly Intact GP challenge in fourth, with Andrea Mantovani - who had a podium finish taken away last year when he was excluded for a technical infringement - fourth and fifth, ahead of the two riders who were forced to break out of Q1 to contest Q2, Jordi Torres - also a winner at Le Mans - and Kevin Zannoni.

This is the second race weekend of the season for one-make MotoE's new electric motorcycle, the Ducati V21L. All-new from the ground up, the bike has received rave reviews and has swiftly out-performed its predecessor - the Energica Ego - in terms of lap time.

Indeed, at Mugello - with its long home straight and flowing corners - Ferrari's pole-winning time was 3.5secs faster than that of Dominique Aegerter in 2022.

Italian MotoE, Mugello | Qualifying Results

Friday | Conditions - Dry, Sunny, Warm
2023 Italian MotoE | Mugello, Italy | Qualifying Results | Round 2 / 8
1Matteo FerrariITAFelo Gresini MotoE1m 55.752
2Mattia CasadeiITAHP Pons Los401m 55.760
3Eric GranadoBRALCR E-Team1m 55.959
4Randy KrummenacherSUIDynavolt Intact GP1m 56.343
5Andrea MantovaniITARNF MotoE Team1m 56.453
6Kevin ZannoniITAOngetta SIC58 Squadracorse1m 56.640
7Jordi TorresESPOpenbank Aspar Team1m 56.649
8Kevin ManfrediITAOngetta SIC58 Squadracorse1m 56.834
9Hector GarzoESPDynavolt Intact GP1m 57.399
10Nicholas SpinelliITAHP Pons Los401m 58.810
11Luca SalvadoriITAPrettl Pramac MotoE1m 56.617
12Tito RabatESPPrettl Pramac MotoE1m 56.786
13Alessio FinelloITAFelo Gresini MotoE1m 56.882
14Miquel PonsESPLCR E-Team1m 56.953
15Alessandro ZacconeITATech3 E-Racing1m 57.074
16Hikari OkuboJPNTech3 E-Racing1m 57.265
17Mika PerezESPRNF MotoE Team1m 58.610
18Maria HerreraESPOpenbank Aspar Team1m 59.525

Articles you may like


More MotoGP

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram