Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Moto3 Spain, RACE: Veijer Takes Alonso's Golden Opportunity

Gold and Goose

David Alonso looked nailed-on to win the Moto3 Spanish Grand Prix even before it started. H was fastest by almost one second in both of Friday’s dry practices, and the only rider within a second of him in qualifying was David Munoz, the #64 using the two of Alonso to get within two-tenths of the Colombian.

It was Munoz who made the holeshot in Jerez, but when Alonso took the lead at turn six on the first lap it felt immediately like the race would be for second place. But then Alonso crashed at turn 13 - possibly (although not obviously) on one of Jerez’ now-infamous damp patches that proved so perilous in the Spanish MotoGP Sprint - and the race was blown wide open.

Collin Veijer leads 2024 Moto3 Spanish Grand Prix. Credit: Gold and Goose

Munoz assumed the lead, but he was quickly overcome by Collin Veijer, who led for the majority of the race. Under the Dutchman’s leadership, five riders - Munoz, Ivan Ortola, Ryusei Yamanaka, Joel Esteban, and Joel Kelso - were able to separate themselves to make a front group of six. 


Just after half-distance, Esteban and Kelso dropped off the back of that leading pack. Then, as the race entered its final three laps, Yamanaka dropped off the back and out of contention, leaving only Veijer, Munoz, and Ortola to decide the podium places.

Veijer led from Munoz onto the last lap, and defended perfectly, not missing an apex and not giving an inch on the brakes to the Spaniard behind. Munoz’ biggest weakness was his corner speed through the high-speed right-handers of turns 11 and 12, which meant he was never able to be close enough to Veijer to attack at the final corner.

Collin Veijer leads 2024 Moto3 Spanish Grand Prix. Credit: Gold and Goose

Veijer’s first victory of the season was accompanied by a first podium of the season for Munoz, while Ivan Ortola rounded out the top three.

Ryusei Yamanaka took what in the end was a fairly lonely fourth place, five seconds clear of the battle for fifth behind.

Esteban and Kelso, having dropped off the lead group in the middle of the race, had fallen into the clutches of the pack that had been fighting for seventh throughout. Esteban led Kelso into the final corner at the head of that fifth-placed battle, but made it two crashes for the CFMoto Aspar team at turn 13, handing fifth to Kelso.

David Alonso, 2024 Moto3 Spanish Grand Prix. Credit: Gold and Goose

Adrian Fernandez took sixth place, ahead of Dani Holgado, who was fortunate. The biggest winner of the Spanish GP in terms of the championship was Veijer, but he is still 28 points behind Holgado, and although Alonso recovered to 11th the #96 still extended his points lead to six over the #80.

Nicola Carraro was eighth, ahead of his MTA teammate Stefano Nepa, and Angel Piqueras completed the top 10 ahead of the aforementioned Alonso.

Full Moto3 results from the Spanish Grand Prix are below.

2024 Moto3 Spanish Grand Prix | Circuito de Jerez-Angel Nieto | Grand Prix Results | Rd 4/21
PosRiderNat.Moto3 TeamManufacturerTiming
1Collin VeijerNEDLiqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GPHusqvarnaWIN
2David MunozESPBOE MotorsportsKTM0.045
3Ivan OrtolaESPMT Helmets MSIKTM0.871
4Ryusei YamanakaJAPMT Helmets MSIKTM4.849
5Joel KelsoAUSBOE MotorsportsKTM10.178
6Adrian FernandezESPLeopard RacingHonda10.353
7Dani HolgadoESPRed Bull GasGas Tech3GasGas10.400
8Nicola CarraroESPMTA TeamKTM10.647
9Stefano NepaITAMTA TeamKTM11.400
10Angel PiquerasESPLeopard RacingHonda14.885
11David AlonsoCOLCFMoto Aspar TeamCFMoto19.152
12Jacob RoulstoneAUSRed Bull GasGas Tech3GasGas19.921
13Filippo FarioliITASIC58 Squadra CorseHonda20.423
14Matteo BertelleITARivacold Snipers TeamHonda20.541
15David AlmansaESPRivacold Snipers TeamHonda20.662
16Vicente PerezESPRed Bull KTM AjoKTM22.382
17Taiyo FurusatoJAPHonda Team AsiaHonda22.882
18Riccardo RossiITACIP Green PowerKTM23.186
19Scott OgdenGBRMLav RacingHonda25.549
20Luca LunettaITASIC58 Squadra CorseHonda32.270
21Noah DettwilerSUICIP Green PowerKTM32.483
22Xabi ZurutuzaESPRed Bull KTM AjoKTM45.346
23Josh WhatleyGBRMLav RacingHonda45.842
24Tatchakorn BuasriMLYHonda Team AsiaHonda46.845
25Tatsuki SuzukiJAPLiqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GPHusqvarna1L
DNFJoel EstebanESPCFMoto Aspar TeamCFMotoDNF

Articles you may like


More MotoGP

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram