Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Aragon WorldSSP Race 1 | Bulega win puts one hand on 2023 title, sets up match point

Nicolo Bulega, Aruba Racing, Ducati Panigale V2, 2023 WorldSSP, Aragon, action [Gold & Goose]

Nicolo Bulega continued his march towards the 2023 WorldSSP Championship title as he wrapped up a 12th victory of the season during the opening race of Round 10 at Motorland Aragon.

Having taken a big stride towards this year’s crown with his double victory last time out at Magny-Cours, Bulega set himself up for more of the same around the Alcaniz circuit by sprinting clear to another dominant victory.

Indeed, with +0.7 separating Bulega and the competition in qualifying, Bulega came into Race 1 as the rider to beat as ever, a status he’d quickly consolidate upon getting the hole-shot into Turn 1 and rapidly opening up a large lead over the chasing pack.


Romping home with almost four seconds in hand, Bulega’s 12th victory of the season, coupled with an 11th place finish for closest rival Manzi after he ran off track on the final lap of the race, means his margin at the head of the standings swells to 80 points.

With only five races of the season remaining, should Bulega outscore Manzi by 20 points again in Sunday’s Race 2, he will be crowned champion this weekend in Spain.

Manzi had been dicing for a second place finish that would have helped minimise the damage to his already slim title hopes, only to lose a fistful of points running off track coming onto the back straight while dicing with Marcel Schroetter.

The Ten Kate Yamaha rider had up to that point been enjoying an entertaining late race scrap with Schroetter, but would instead release his German rival to take home his seventh podium trophy of the season for MV Agusta.

With Manzi plummeting down the order to 11th, Yari Montella came back up onto the rostrum for his fourth visit of the year. The Italian ran second for much of the race before being swamped by Manzi and Schroetter, but managed to hold off the advancing Federico Caricasulo and Raffaele de Rosa to hold onto third.

Bahattin Sofuoglu made it a positive day for the MV Agusta factory team with a strong run to sixth, ahead of Glenn van Straalen, Jorge Navarro, Niki Tuuli and Valentin Debise, the Frenchman popping up into tenth at the expense of the delayed Manzi.

It was a tough day at the office for the British trio with Tom Booth-Amos and John McPhee retiring, while Tarran Mackenzie trailed in 26th and last.

2023 Aragon WorldSSP | Motorland Aragon | Race 1 Results | Rd. 10 of 12]
1Nicolo Bulega🇮🇹Aruba Racing WorldSSPDucati Panigale V216 Laps
2Marcel Schroetter🇩🇪MV Agusta Reparto CorseMV Agusta F3 800 RR+3.581
3Yari Montella🇮🇹Barni Spark RacingDucati Panigale V2+4.106
4Federico Caricasulo🇮🇹Althea RacingDucati Panigale V2+4.306
5Raffaele de Rosa🇮🇹Orelac Racing VerdnaturaDucati Panigale V2+5.830
6Bahattin Sofuoglu🇹🇷MV Agusta Reparto CorseMV Agusta F3 800 RR+6.763
7Glenn van Straalen🇳🇱EAB RacingYamaha R6+10.583
8Jorge Navarro🇪🇦Ten Kate RacingYamaha R6+10.718
9Niki Tuuli🇫🇮PTR RacingTriumph STR 765 RS+10.786
10Valentin Debise🇨🇵GMT94Yamaha R6+11.751
11Stefano Manzi🇮🇹Ten Kate RacingYamaha R6+12.050
12Yeray Ruiz🇪🇦MDR OfftecYamaha R6+22.001
13Alvaro Diaz🇪🇦Arco YARTYamaha R6+22.045
14Nicholas Spinelli🇮🇹VFT RacingYamaha R6+22.571
15Ondrej Vostatek🇵🇱PTR RacingTriumph STR 765 RS+26.792
16Lorenzo Dalla Porta🇮🇹Evan Bros. TeamYamaha R6+28.460
17Can Oncu🇹🇷Puccetti RacingKawasaki ZX-6R+31.1
18Tom Edwards🇦🇺YARTYamaha R6+31.1
19Anupab Sarmoon🇹🇭Yamaha Thailand RacingYamaha R6+33.2
20Federico Fuligni🇮🇹Orelac Racing VerdnaturaDucati Panigale V2+36.0
21Max Kofler🇦🇹D34G RacingDucati Panigale V2+43.4
22Luke Power🇦🇺Motozoo RacingKawasaki ZX-6R+45.4
23Leonardo Taccini🇮🇹Vince64 by PuccettiKawasaki ZX-6R+49.3
24Yuta Okaya🇯🇵ProDina RacingKawasaki ZX-6R+49.3
25Adam Norrodin🇲🇾Petronas MIE RacingHonda CBR600RR+49.4
26Tarran Mackenzie🇬🇧Petronas MIE RacingHonda CBR600RR+50.1
DNFAdrian Huertas🇪🇦MTM RacingKawasaki ZX-6R
DNFHector Garzo🇪🇦Yamaha Thailand RacingYamaha R6
DNFTom Booth-Amos🇬🇧Motozoo RacingKawasaki ZX-6R
DNFJohn McPhee🇦🇹D34G RacingDucati Panigale V2
DNSMaiki Abe🇯🇵VFT RacingYamaha R6
DNSJulian Giral🇪🇦Ducati ZaragozaDucati Panigale V2

Articles you may like


More WorldSBK

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram