Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Jerez WorldSBK Superpole Race | Bautista resists spirited Aegerter to win restarted race

Gold & Goose
Alvaro Bautista, Aruba.it Racing, Ducati Panigale V4 R, 2023 WorldSBK, Jerez, action [Gold & Goose]

Alvaro Bautista consolidated his status as 2023 WorldSBK Champion by adding another record 27th victory to his title-winning campaign ahead of first-time podium winner Dominique Aegerter.

In a Superpole Race shortened to eight laps after a red flag triggered by Aegerter after a technical issue, Bautista shrugged off a scruffy start to emerge a comfortable winner over the Swiss rider.

Indeed, Aegerter - who was struck by electrical issues in Race 1 - very nearly saw his fine efforts of qualifying on the front row come to nothing after his GYTR GRT Yamaha expired in a major way on lap two of the ten-lap sprint.


However, with Iker Lecuona and Loris Baz both coming off in the smoke behind him, organisers called a brief halt to proceedings, with the race undergoing a full restart but over a shorter distance.

It meant Aegerter could re-take the start, the double WorldSSP Champion taking full advantage to grab the hole-shot into Turn 1. Though he’d be demoted back by an eager Alex Lowes soon afterwards, an aggressive pass back into the lead at the end of the lap one would see him come back across the line in front.

Having slipped to as low as fourth initially, Bautista bullied his way back into contention at the start of lap two, picking off Lowes before accelerating past Aegerter for the lead coming down to the Turn 6 hairpin.

From here Bautista wasn’t bothered thereafter, despite a spirited effort from Aegerter, who steadied himself to repel an initial fight from Toprak Razgatlioglu to firmly pin down second for his maiden WorldSBK podium result.

In third, Jonathan Rea made the most of Razgatlioglu’s wilting rear tyre to get through on the Pata Yamaha rider, ensuring at least one more podium finish for the Kawasaki Racing Team rider before he is Yamaha-bound at the end of the weekend.

Razgatlioglu made do with fourth, albeit not before being involved in a clash with Lowes, caused by the Kawasaki rider clipping the Yamaha’s rear wheel as the R1 came by. Causing the ZX-10RR to fold, Lowes’ head took a blow on Razgatlioglu’s rear tyre on the way down, necessitating a trip to the medical centre.

In fifth place, Andrea Locatelli was fortunate for the restart too having slid off on the opening lap of the initial getaway, the Italian hitting back with fifth.

Remy Gardner consolidated GYTR GRT’s grandstand race with a fine run to sixth, ahead of Phillipp Oettl, Michael van der Mark and Danilo Petrucci, the trio assuring their spots on the front three rows for Race 2.

Elsewhere, Garrett Gerloff, Scott Redding and Axel Bassani were all in contention for points too before they came together and retired at Turn 1 with three laps remaining


2023 Spain WorldSBK | Jerez | Superpole Race Results | Round 12 of 12
1Alvaro Bautista🇪🇸Aruba DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R8 Laps
2Dominique Aegerter🇨🇭GYTR GRTYamaha R1+1.487
3Jonathan Rea🇬🇧Kawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR+3.124
4Toprak Razgatlioglu🇹🇷Pata Crescent RacingYamaha R1+3.581
5Andrea Locatelli🇮🇹Pata Crescent RacingYamaha R1+5.716
6Remy Gardner🇦🇺GYTR GRTYamaha R1+6.268
7Philipp Oettl🇩🇪Go ElevenDucati Panigale V4 R+6.572
8Michael van der Mark🇳🇱BMW Motorrad WorldSBKBMW M 1000 RR+6.878
9Danilo Petrucci🇮🇹Barni Spark RacingDucati Panigale V4 R+7.342
10Xavi Vierge🇪🇸Team HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R+8.522
11Michael Ruben Rinaldi🇮🇹Aruba DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+12.320
12Lorenzo Baldassarri🇮🇹GMT 94Yamaha R1+12.772
13Iker Lecuona🇪🇸Team HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R+13.043
14Loris Baz🇫🇷Bonovo RacingBMW M 1000 RR+134.586
15Tito Rabat🇪🇸Puccetti RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+17.734
16Hafizh Syahrin🇲🇾Petronas MIE RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+22.082
17Oliver Konig🇨🇿Orelac RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+25.785
18Florian Alt🇩🇪Holzhauer RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+25.908
19Gabriele Ruiu🇮🇹B-Max RacingBMW M 1000 RR+26.403
20Leandro Mercado🇦🇷Petronas MIE RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+28.518
DNFScott Redding🇬🇧BMW Motorrad WorldSBKBMW M 1000 RR
DNFGarrett Gerloff🇺🇲Bonovo RacingBMW M 1000 RR
DNFAxel Bassani🇮🇹Motocorsa RacingDucati Panigale V4 R
DNFAlex Lowes🇬🇧Kawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR

Articles you may like


More WorldSBK

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram