Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


British Moto2, Silverstone RACE | Fermin Aldeguer claims his first ever Grand Prix victory in dominant style

Gold and Goose

18-year-old Fermin Aldeguer took his first ever victory in the Moto2 World Championship in dominant style at the British Grand Prix.

After a wet qualifying session yesterday the young sensation, Pedro Acosta, started from pole for the Moto2 race around Silverstone. British riders Sam Lowes, Jake Dixon and Rory Skinner started from 9th, 15th and 21st.

Fermin Aldeguer claimed the lead at the start of the race as he launched himself into the lead from the front row of the grid. Carnage broke out further down the order as at the third corner four riders ended up on the floor, one of these riders was British rider, Rory Skinner.


Back at the front Alonso Lopez had snatched the lead from his team-mate as Aldeguer was demoted down to third place after Acosta took second place off of his compatriot. It was a nightmare of a start for the British riders as Sam Lowes was down in 15th place and Jake Dixon found himself in the gravel at the end of the first lap after contact with Darryn Binder.

Young Aldeguer had dropped further back as Aron Canet took third place off of him. The order on lap three was Lopez, Canet and Acosta after Canet sat up Acosta at Copse Corner.

Lap four saw further movement at the front as Canet took the lead off of Lopez and Aldeguer grabbed back third place off of Acosta. Young rookie rider, Sergio Garcia, crashed out of the race at the start of the fourth lap.

At the start of the sixth lap of the race Canet began to check out as he was on the hunt for his first ever Moto2 race win. Lopez was holding back Acosta as he was in second place with Aldeguer and Barry Baltus battling it out for fourth place.

With two British riders out of the British Grand Prix the sole remaining British rider, Lowes, had made his way up the order into tenth place on lap eight after a poor start to the race.

Lopez had been battling hard with Aldeguer and Acosta but his race had reached its end as he crashed out of the race on lap nine.

Lap 11 of the race saw Aldeguer launch himself back into the lead and he began to drop Acosta and Canet with only seven laps remaining. Further down the order Lowes had found himself in seventh place as he had made gradual progress through the field in his final British Grand Prix.

Aldeguer had checked out at the front of the race on Lap 14 and had a 1.2 second lead over Canet and Acosta who were still battling for second place. Further back Lowes had joined the battle for fourth place with Joe Roberts, Baltus and Manuel Gonzalez.

Aldeguer crossed the line to take his first ever Grand Prix victory in dominant fashion from Aron Canet and Pedro Acosta.

2023 British Moto2 | Silverstone, UK | Race Results | Round 9 of 20
1Fermin Aldeguer🇪🇦SpeedUp RacingBoscoscuro35:37.758
2Aron Canet🇪🇦Pons Wegow Los40Kalex+2.546
3Pedro Acosta🇪🇦Red Bull KTM AjoKalex+3.883
4Joe Roberts🇺🇸Italtrans Racing TeamKalex+6.460
5Manuel Gonzalez🇪🇦Yamaha VR46 MasterCampKalex+7.162
6Barry Baltus🇧🇪Fieten Olie Racing GPKalex+7.574
7Sam Lowes🇬🇧Elf Marc VDS RacingKalex+7.623
8Ai Ogura🇯🇵IDEMITSU Honda AsiaKalex+9.138
9Somkiat Chantra🇮🇩IDEMITSU Honda AsiaKalex+12.280
10Tony Arbolino🇮🇹Elf Marc VDS RacingKalex+13.094
11Jeremy Alcoba🇪🇦QJMOTOR GresiniKalex+16.571
12Celestino Vietti🇮🇹Fantic RacingKalex+16.708
13Filip Salac🇨🇿QJMOTOR GresiniKalex+16.828
14Albert Arenas🇪🇦Red Bull KTM AjoKalex+18.835
15Darryn Binder🇿🇦Husqvarna IntactGPKalex+29.061
16Lukas Tulovic🇩🇪Husqvarna IntactGPKalex+29.556
17Bo Bendsneyder🇳🇱Pertamina SAG TeamKalex+38.437
18Alex Escrig🇪🇦Forward TeamForward+40.838
19Marcos Ramirez🇪🇦Forward TeamForward+42.853
20Zonta van den Goorbergh🇳🇱Fieten Olie Racing GPKalex+45.139
21Izan Guevara🇪🇦Autosolar GasGas AsparKalex+1:05.750
22Kohta Nozane🇯🇵Yamaha VR46 MasterCampKalex+1:10.688
DNFAlonso Lopez🇪🇦SpeedUp RacingBoscoscuro
DNFSergio Garcia🇪🇦Pons Wegow Los40Kalex
DNFJake Dixon🇬🇧Autosolar GasGas AsparKalex
DNFRory Skinner🇬🇧American RacingKalex
DNFTaiga Hada🇯🇵Pertamina SAG TeamKalex
DNFBorja Gomez🇪🇦Fantic RacingKalex
DNFDennis Foggia🇮🇹Italtrans Racing TeamKalex

Articles you may like


More MotoGP

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram