Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


French MotoE Qualifying Results | Ferrari clings onto pole despite late Le Mans fall


Matteo Ferrari will have the honour of starting the new Ducati era of MotoE from pole position at Le Mans despite taking a tumble in the final moments of the qualifying session.

The Italian - champion of MotoE's inaugural season in 2019 - defied the onset of light rain during the ten minute session to shake out at the head of the timesheets on the Felo Gresini bike.

However, it didn't come without a nervy couple of minutes before the flag fell in Q2 after low-siding off his Ducati at Turn 3, Ferrari watching from the sidelines as Hector Garzo and Jordi Torres got close to his benchmark, but crucially couldn't better it.


A historic moment for Ferrari and the all-electric series - which earns official FIM World Championship status for the first time this year - as a whole, this weekend marks the first competitive outing for the new Ducati V21L MotoE bike.

Built as a prototype - unlike the adapted road going Energica Ego it replaces - even with the rain, the pole-winning time of 1m 40.971s was 2.5secs quicker than last year's top Q2 lap.

Joining Ferrari on the front row will be Dynavolt IntactGP's Garzo, the Spaniard ending up just 0.022s shy of the top spot, while Aspar's Jordi Torres - champion in 2020 and 2021 - was just 0.005s further back in third.

Randy Krummenacher - who together with Garzo replaces departed 2022 MotoE World Cup champion Dominique Aegerter - will get away from fourth, with Kevin Manfredi (SIC58) and Nicholas Spinelli (Pons) alongside him on the second row.

MotoE will run to eight rounds, each a double-header, with both races at Le Mans taking place on Saturday's French MotoGP programme.

French MotoE | Qualifying Results

Le Mans | Conditions - Q1 Overcast, Dry - Q2 Light rain
2023 French MotoE | Le Mans, France | Qualifying Results | Round 1 of 8
1Matteo FerrariITAFelo Gresini MotoE1m 40.971
2Hector GarzoESPDynavolt Intact GP1m 40.993
3Jordi TorresESPOpenbank Aspar Team1m 40.996
4Randy KrummenacherSUIDynavolt Intact GP1m 41.480
5Kevin ManfrediITAOngetta SIC58 Squadracorse1m 41.497
6Nicholas SpinelliITAHP Pons Los401m 41.646
7Mattia CasadeiITAHP Pons Los401m 41.690
8Kevin ZannoniITAOngetta SIC58 Squadracorse1m 41.714
9Miquel PonsESPLCR E-Team1m 42.081
10Andrea MantovaniITARNF MotoE Team1m 42.261
11Alessandro ZacconeITATech3 E-Racing1m 41.667
12Hikari OkuboJPNTech3 E-Racing1m 41.753
13Tito RabatESPPrettl Pramac MotoE1m 41.973
14Alessio FinelloITAFelo Gresini MotoE1m 42.642
15Luca SalvadoriITAPrettl Pramac MotoE1m 42.700
16Mika PerezESPRNF MotoE Team1m 42.928
17Maria HerreraESPOpenbank Aspar Team1m 43.070

Articles you may like


More MotoGP

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram