Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


GP winner Prein set to join Mackenzie in Silverstone Pro-Am

Yugoslavia 125GP winner and MarcVDS MotoGP rider coach Stefan Prein will join Niall Mackenzie, Alan Carter, Donnie MacLeod and Dek Crutchlow in this year’s RDLC Silverstone Pro-Am scrap.

Prein, from Germany, won the 1990 125cc Grand Prix at Rijeka, pipping Loris Capirossi by 0.03s, and is now a rider coach and mentor for the Estrella Galicia Marc VDS team in the MotoGP and Moto2 World Championships.

“I am looking forward to making my Pro-Am debut at Silverstone. I’ve heard so much about the original series from the British guys in our team who remember it the first time around and I can’t wait to experience it for myself now,” said Prein.


“The Pro-Am organisers have done a great job to ensure that the bikes are as evenly matched as they were in the 1980s, so it will be a close battle on track, even if some of us don’t enjoy the same power to weight ratio that we had back then!

“Our riders, Jack Miller, Tito Rabat, Alex Marquez and Franco Morbidelli say they will be there to support me in the race. I suspect the reality of the situation is they are only turning up to abuse me if I’m not quite as fast as I may have lead them to believe. No pressure then.”

Prein will line-up alongside last year’s race winner Niall Mackenzie and podium finishers Charlie Corner and Andy Muggleton. And, after a 34-year absence, the revelation of the 1982 series, Alan “Mighty Mouse” Carter returns to Pro-Am and to Silverstone as 24 riders do battle on the 30bhp machines.

Full line-up:

1 Alan Carter LC250 Yamaha
2 Peter Boast LC250 Yamaha
3 Dave Butler LC250 Yamaha
4 Geoff Crust LC250 Yamaha
5 John Corrin LC250 Yamaha
6 Steve Chambers LC250 Yamaha
7 Curt Langan LC250 Yamaha
9 Dean Askin LC250 Yamaha
11 Geoff Fowler LC250 Yamaha
13 Stefan Prein LC250 Yamaha
19 Joe Toner LC250 Yamaha
22 Ivan Gray LC250 Yamaha
25 Glen English LC250 Yamaha
29 Kim Barker LC250 Yamaha
30 Graeme Mitchell LC250 Yamaha
31 Dale Robinson LC250 Yamaha
32 Mick Crick LC250 Yamaha
35 Derek Crutchlow LC250 Yamaha
54 Niall Mackenzie LC250 Yamaha
60 Donnie McLeod LC250 Yamaha
70 Dave Crampton LC250 Yamaha
66 Charlie Corner LC250 Yamaha
77 Andy Muggleton LC250 Yamaha
93 Martin Rice LC250 Yamaha

Articles you may like


More MotoGP

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram