Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Spanish Moto2 RACE Results | Lowes conquers Acosta with dominant Jerez win

Sam Lowes produced arguably one of the most comprehensively dominant victories in the history of the Moto2 World Championship as he secured a tenth career victory in the Spanish Moto2 at Jerez over Pedro Acosta.

Starting from pole position, Lowes shrugged off a tardy getaway that demoted him behind local pre-race favourite Acosta initially, to force his way back to the front before the end of the opening lap.

It put him into a lead he'd hold comfortably for the remainder of the 21-lap race, Lowes dismissing the threat posed by title contender Acosta to stream away from the Spaniard and cross the line with almost three seconds in hand.


A superb display of dominance from the Briton, the success raises his career tally of Moto2 wins to ten and is his first since the 2021 Emilia-Romagna Moto2 race at Misano.

Lowes' performance comes after obliterating the opposition in qualifying to score pole position by more than half-a-second, but with Acosta showing metronomically consistent lap times during longer runs, many were looking to the 2021 Moto3 World Champion as the rider to beat come race day.

Instead the opposite was true, Acosta's moment in the spotlight coming at the start when he got the jump on Lowes into Turn 1 and led the pack for much of the opening lap. However, an aggressive block pass from Lowes into the final corner was all he'd need to reverse positions that wouldn't change to the flag.

Though Acosta tried to go with Lowes, a series of fastest laps from the Marc VDS Racing rider would see him raise the margin to more than 2.1secs. While an upturn in pace with eight laps to go briefly suggested Acosta might have been biding his time, Lowes simply turned the wick up himself to snuff out any potential challenge.

Despite missing out on victory, Acosta's second place finish - coupled with fourth for main title rival Tony Arbolino - brings him level with Italian at the head of the overall standings.

Alonso Lopez enjoyed an unruffled afternoon in what was a lonely third place for much of the race, the SpeedUp rider collecting his second podium of the season.

Arbolino had a superb getaway from tenth on the grid to thank for his eventual fourth place, the Marc VDS rider tussling it out for third on the opening lap before being shuffled back again by Lopez.

Engaging in an entertaining tussle with Ai Ogura, Arbolino had just gotten the better of the Japanese rider - enjoying his best event since injuring himself pre-season - on lap 13 when the 2022 Moto2 runner-up clipped the rear wheel of the Kalex as his rival came through and was tipped off his Honda Team Asia bike, putting him out of the race.

Like Arbolino, Aron Canet made big gains from a lowly 12th on the grid but could only ascend as high as fifth place to keep himself in the mix at the front of the overall standings.


Having qualified on the front row, Jake Dixon was slow off the line and bullied about in the opening bends, but would collect himself to bring it home for a safe sixth place, just ahead of Somkiat Chantra.

On a weekend that had already seen him fall on four occasions, Albert Arenas kept it upright to bring it home for eighth, ahead of Filip Salac, whose faded from a strong start that initially had him running inside the top five. Fermin Aldeguer - despite a long-lap penalty - rounded out the top ten.

A race low in attrition with only Ogura and Celestino Vietti crashing out of top ten positions, Sergio Garcia, Manuel Gonzalez, Barry Baltus, Joe Roberts and Lukas Tulovic picked up the remaining points in 11th to 15th respectively.

Full Spanish Moto2 Results to follow

CLICK HERE for full Spanish Moto2 Practice, Qualifying and RACE RESULTS from Jerez

Spanish Moto2 | RACE Results

Jerez | Conditions - Dry, Hot
2023 Spanish Moto2 | Jerez, Spain | RACE Results | Round 4 of 20
1Sam LowesGBRElf Marc VDS RacingKalex21 Laps
2Pedro AcostaESPRed Bull KTM AjoKalex+2.841
3Alonso LopezESPSpeedUp RacingBoscoscuro+9.618
4Tony ArbolinoITAElf Marc VDS RacingKalex+10.163
5Aron CanetESPPons Wegow Los40Kalex+11.056
6Jake DixonGBRAutosolar GasGas AsparKalex+11.923
7Somkiat ChantraTHAIDEMITSU Honda AsiaKalex+12.586
8Albert ArenasESPRed Bull KTM AjoKalex+14.948
9Filip SalacCZEQJMOTOR GresiniKalex+16.470
10Fermin AldeguerESPSpeedUp RacingBoscoscuro+18.550
11Sergio GarciaESPPons Wegow Los40Kalex+22.134
12Manuel GonzalezJPNYamaha VR46 MasterCampKalex+22.817
13Barry BaltusBELFieten Olie Racing GPKalex+23.080
14Joe RobertsUSAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex+25.110
15Lukas TulovicGERHusqvarna IntactGPKalex+26.709
16Jeremy AlcobaESPQJMOTOR GresiniKalex+26.922
17Bo BendsneyderNEDPertamina SAG TeamKalex+28.568
18Dennis FoggiaITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex+30.384
19Borja GomezESPFantic RacingKalex+33.223
20Marcos RamirezESPForward TeamForward+36.775
21Senna AgiusAUSHusqvarna IntactGPKalex+36.812
22Izan GuevaraESPAutosolar GasGas AsparKalex+37.151
23Zonta van den GoorberghNEDFieten Olie Racing GPKalex+39.637
24Rory SkinnerGBRAmerican RacingKalex+39.786
25Lorenzo Dalla PortaITAPertamina SAG TeamKalex+1m 02.572
26Soichiro MinamimotoJPNYamaha VR46 MasterCampKalex+1m 03.282
DNFAi OguraJPNIDEMITSU Honda AsiaKalex
DNFSean Dylan KellyUSAAmerican RacingKalex
DNFCelestino ViettiITAFantic RacingKalex
DNSAlex EscrigESPForward TeamForward

Articles you may like


More MotoGP

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram