Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Triple Torrens Trophy celebration for Hickman, Bristow and Crescent

Three recipients picked up the annual Torrens Trophy on Monday evening after the pandemic curtailed celebrations in recent years.

A somewhat star-studded event at the Royal Automobile Club saw the motorcycling dinner receive guests including double World Champion and past Torrens winner James Toseland, current and former BSB Champion’s Tarran and Niall Mackenzie, BT Sport presenter Suzi Perry and current riders Rory Skinner, Ryan Vickers and Maria Costello MBE.

Peter Hickman had the longest wait for his award, having been announced as 2019’s winner for his three victories at the most recent running of the Isle of Man TT, alongside setting the world’s fastest lap record of 136.415 mph at the Ulster GP of the same year.


“I’m obviously really proud to have won the Royal Automobile Club’s Torrens Trophy,” Hickman acknowledged. “It’s such a prestigious trophy that many great names have won over the years. A massive thank you to Alan, Rebecca and everyone at the former Smiths Racing Team.”

2020 saw Emma Bristow awarded the honour after claiming her remarkable seventh consecutive FIM Trial Women’s World Championship - in an unstoppable season with six wins from six starts - becoming the first female in the prize’s more than 40 year history to be recognised.

Having started riding motorcycles at the age of four, the 31-year-old from Louth, Lincolnshire is now a nine-time world champion, having added two World SuperEnduro Championships to her tally. Alongside ten Women’s British Trials Championships, two Women’s European Trials Championships and one Latin American Championship (mixed gender category), Bristow is without doubt one of the UK’s most successful female athletes.

“I’m truly honoured to have won the Torrens Trophy – and to be the first female winner,” she confirmed on the night, having made a dramatic entrance by riding her trials bike into the prestigious clubhouse’s main hall and wheelie-ing into position for the presentation.

“I’m really looking forward to 2022 and I’m already working hard to try to win another World Championship and break the current record of 35 GP wins. I still want to keep improving and developing as a rider.

“Yes, I hope my success inspires more girls to get into two-wheeled motorsport, but for me it’s also about girls seeing it’s not just the men who can ride bikes at a high level. We can succeed if we work hard, and this is something I’m really passionate about.”

2021 WorldSBK title holders Crescent Racing picked up this year’s accolade for its part in the Pata Yamaha triple crown, as Toprak Razgatlioglu claimed his debut championship win alongside the manufacturers and teams titles.

Team Principal Paul Denning collected the award, explaining: “We have been aware of the Torrens Trophy for many years and have greatly enjoyed seeing such British stars as Sam Sunderland and Cal Crutchlow receive it in the past.

“For Crescent Yamaha to be recognised by the Royal Automobile Club and the Torrens committee is a real honour and we are so proud to receive the 2021 award, which only adds to the satisfaction of the team’s achievements last year. We are now very much focused on looking forward towards the 2022 season and doing everything we can to again be competitive, but the Torrens Trophy is a great way to cap off 2021!”

The Torrens Trophy, awarded by the Royal Automobile Club, recognises an individual or organisation considered to have made an outstanding contribution to the cause of safe and skilful motorcycling in the United Kingdom, to have made an outstanding contribution of technical excellence to further the cause of motorcycling in the UK, or to have shown outstanding skill in international motorcycling sporting events. Previous winners include Cal Crutchlow, Jonathan Rea, Ian Hutchinson and Tai Woffinden.

Articles you may like


More World News

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram