Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Assen BSB: Race weekend stats, facts and pub ammo

This is the seventh consecutive year, the British Superbike Championship has visited Assen with twelve races having been held so far.

There have been seven different winners in those 12 races with 14 riders having stood on the podium.

Josh Brookes and Leon Haslam (3) have taken the most wins followed by Shane Byrne (2) and Alex Lowes, James Ellison, Josh Waters and Sylvain Guintoli (all 1).


Haslam has won three of the last four races at Assen.

Byrne has the most podiums with 7 followed by Brookes and Ellison (both 5), Haslam (4), Lowes and Ryuichi Kiyonari (both 3) and Tommy Bridewell (2).

Ellison has finished on the podium at Assen in four of the last six races.

The closest winning margin at Assen was in the second race of 2016 when Haslam beat Byrne by 0.010s.

The biggest winning margin came in the second race of 2013 when Ellison beat PJ Jacobsen by 9.283s.

Haslam scored the most points at Assen in 2017 with 41 followed by Guintoli (38), Byrne and Brookes (both 31), Ellison (29) and Peter Hickman (19).

Out of the other Showdown contenders, Jake Dixon scored 17 points and Bradley Ray 16 points but Glenn Irwin only managed 4 points with a brace of 14th place finishes.

Byrne (13) led the most laps in 2017 followed by Ellison (10), Guintoli (8) and Haslam (5).

The quickest ever lap at an Assen BSB meeting was set by Shane Byrne who set a time of 1m35.724s in Q3 in 2016.


The lap record remains in the hands of Brookes who lapped at 1m36.904s in the first race of 2015. Byrne set the fastest race lap in 2017 with a time of 1m37.908s.

Haslam’s double podium at Oulton Park last time out moved him on to a career total of 99.

Kawasaki have the most BSB wins at Assen with 5 followed by Suzuki and Yamaha (both 3) and Honda (1).

Kawasaki (Haslam) and Suzuki (Sylvain Guintoli) won the two races in 2017.


Yamaha’s last win at Assen came in 2015 when Josh Brookes did the double.

Suzuki last tasted victory at Assen with Josh Waters in 2014.

Honda’s last win at Assen was in 2013 with Alex Lowes.

Ducati and BMW have never won a BSB race at Assen.

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram