Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Brands BSB Final: Race weekend statistics, facts and pub ammo

Your final round up of stats, facts and pub ammo talking points ahead of the Brands Hatch 2022 Bennetts BSB Championship clincher

Brands Hatch GP has hosted at least one round of the BSB Championship every year since 1997 with the exception of 2000 when both rounds took place on the shorter, Indy circuit.

That equates to a total of 86 BSB races – in that time there have been 25 different race winners and 46 different podium finishers.


Bradley Ray needs just seven points to clinch the 2022 British Superbike Championship.

This will make him the sixth Yamaha rider to win the BSB title (since 1996) after Niall Mackenzie (1996-98), Leon Camier (2009), Tommy Hill (2011), Josh Brookes (2015) and Tarran Mackenzie (2021).

Seven riders have so far won races in the 2022 season with 13 different riders having stood on the podium.

Championship leader Bradley Ray (9) has the most victories in 2022 followed by Jason O’Halloran (7), Glenn Irwin and Tarran Mackenzie (both 3), Lee Jackson, Danny Buchan and Tom Sykes (all 2) and Tommy Bridewell and Kyle Ryde (1 each).

Seven teams have now won races this season – Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha and McAMS Yamaha (10 wins each), Honda Racing (3), Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Racing Kawasaki, Synetiq BMW and MCE Ducati (2 each) and Oxford Products Racing Ducati (1).

Glenn Irwin now has 29 BSB podiums, the same number recorded by Stuart Easton.

Tommy Bridewell will make his 357th BSB race start in the opening race of the weekend at Brands Hatch. This will move him ahead of Shane Byrne (356) and third overall on the all-time BSB race starts behind Michael Rutter (434) and Peter Hickman (402).

Leon Haslam is set to make his 225th BSB start in the final race at Brands Hatch this weekend.

Ryan Vickers will make his 100th BSB race start in the opening race this weekend.

Danny Kent will make his 50th BSB start in the final race this weekend.


Shane Byrne and Josh Brookes have the record number of wins on the Brands Hatch GP circuit with 19 followed by Tarran Mackenzie (6), John Reynolds (5), Leon Haslam (4) and Steve Hislop, Gregorio Lavilla, Leon Camier and Jason O’Halloran (all 3).

Josh Brookes has won more races on the Brands GP circuit (19) than he has at any other UK circuit. Thruxton is his next most successful circuit with nine wins.

Brookes’ victory at Brands in the final race of the 2020 season is the last time he won a BSB race.

Tarran Mackenzie has won six of the last nine BSB races to be held on the Brands Hatch GP circuit.


Shane Byrne has the record number of podiums (30) on the Brands GP circuit followed by Josh Brookes (26), Tommy Bridewell (15), James Ellison (14), Jason O’Halloran (13), Tarran Mackenzie (12), Leon Haslam (11), and John Reynolds, Michael Rutter and Christian Iddon (all 9).

Tommy Bridewell has finished on the podium at the Brands Hatch GP circuit in 12 of the last 17 races to take place.

Neither current championship leader Bradley Ray nor fourth-placed Lee Jackson have ever finished on a BSB podium on the Brands GP circuit.

The current lap record around the Brands Hatch GP circuit was set in July 2017 by Josh Brookes, the Australian recording a time of 1m24.873s, 103.21mph.

The fastest lap ever recorded around the Brands Hatch GP was by Shane Byrne who recorded a time of 1m24.163s during Q3 in October 2017.

Tom Sykes’ double victory at Donington Park moved Ducati onto 213 British Superbike Championship race wins. They’re followed by Yamaha (163), Honda (113), Kawasaki (102), Suzuki (74) and BMW (19).

Ducati have the most wins on the Brands Hatch GP circuit with 28, followed by Yamaha (24), Kawasaki (16), Suzuki (11), Honda (5) and BMW (2).

Yamaha have won eight of the last nine BSB races to be held on the Brands Hatch GP circuit.

Yamaha’s last win on the Brands Hatch GP circuit came in July this year when Tarran Mackenzie won the second and third races.

Ducati’s last win on the Brands Hatch GP circuit was with Christian Iddon in July 2021.

Suzuki’s last win on the Brands GP circuit came in October 2018 with Richard Cooper.

Kawasaki’s last victory on the Brands GP circuit was also in October 2018 with Leon Haslam.

BMW’s last victory on the Brands Hatch GP circuit was in 2015 with Michael Laverty.

Honda’s last victory at Brands Hatch was back in 2011 with Shane Byrne.

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram