Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Brands BSB finale: Statistics, facts and pub ammunition

Facts, statistics and pub ammunition ahead of this weekend's Brands Hatch British Superbike finale

The Brands Hatch GP circuit has hosted at least one round of the BSB Championship every year since 1996 with the exception of 1996 and 2000 when both rounds took place on the shorter, Indy circuit.

That equates to a total of 74 BSB races – in that time there have been 22 different race winners and 46 different podium finishers.


Josh Brookes has won all three races to be held at the final round at Brands Hatch on two occasions – 2013 and 2019.

Out of all the five title challengers – Josh Brookes, Christian Iddon, Glenn Irwin, Jason O’Halloran and Tarran Mackenzie – only Brookes and Irwin have previously won BSB races on the Brands Hatch GP circuit, Brookes with 17 wins and Irwin with one.

Brookes has also scored more podiums (24) on the Brands Hatch GP circuit than the rest of his title challengers combined (12), Iddon and Irwin both having taken four, O’Halloran (3) and Mackenzie (1).

Just 19 points cover the leading four riders in the Championship – Josh Brookes, Christian Iddon, Glenn Irwin and Jason O’Halloran – which is the closest gap ever between the top four riders going into the final round.

Christian Iddon and Jason O’Halloran are the only two riders to score points in every round in 2019.

PBM Ducati are aiming to become only the second team ever to have finished first and second in the Championship for two years in a row. Cadbury’s Boost Yamaha achieved the feat in 1996 and 1997 whilst HM Plant Honda took the top two Championship positions in both 2007 and 2010.

In five of the last six years, the rider leading the championship coming into the final round has been crowned champion.

Luke Mossey will make his 150th BSB start in the second race at Brands Hatch this weekend.

Jack Kennedy will make his 50th BSB start in the first race this weekend.


Shane Byrne has the record number of wins on the GP circuit with 19 followed by Josh Brookes (17),
John Reynolds (5), Leon Haslam (4) and Steve Hislop, Gregorio Lavilla and Leon Camier (all 3).

Josh Brookes has won more races on the Brands GP circuit (17) than he has at any other UK circuit. Thruxton is his next most successful circuit with nine wins.

In 2012, Shane Byrne won all five races held on the GP circuit, a feat matched by Josh Brookes in 2019.

Josh Brookes has also won eight of the last 11 races to take place on the GP circuit.


Shane Byrne has the most number of podiums (30) on the Brands GP circuit followed by Josh Brookes (24), James Ellison (14), Leon Haslam (11), John Reynolds and Michael Rutter (both 9) and Tommy Bridewell (8).

Tommy Bridewell finished on the podium in all five of the BSB races to be held on the Brands GP circuit in 2019.

Keith Farmer’s only BSB podium came on the Brands Hatch GP circuit in 2013.

Gino Rea (fourth), Ryan Vickers (fifth) and Joe Francis (tenth) all scored their best ever BSB finishes last time out at Donington Park.

The current lap record was set in July in 2017 by Josh Brookes, the Australian recording a time of 1m24.873s, 103.21mph.

The fastest lap ever recorded around the Brands Hatch GP was by Shane Byrne who recorded a time of 1m24.163s during Q3 in October 2017.

Ducati have the most wins on the Brands Hatch GP circuit with 25, followed by Kawasaki (16), Yamaha (15), Suzuki (11), Honda (5) and BMW (2).

Ducati, with Josh Brookes, won all five races on the Brands GP circuit in 2019.

Suzuki’s last win on the Brands GP circuit came in October 2018 with Richard Cooper.

Kawasaki’s last victory on the Brands GP circuit was also in October 2018 with Leon Haslam.

Yamaha’s last victory on the Brands GP circuit was in July 2018 when Josh Brookes won both races.

BMW’s last victory on the Brands Hatch GP circuit was in 2015 with Michael Laverty.

Honda’s last victory was back in 2011 with Shane Byrne.

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram