Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Brands BSB: Pre-race stats, facts and pub ammo

Brands Hatch’s GP circuit has hosted at least one round of the BSB Championship every year since 1996 with the exception of 1996 and 2000 when both rounds took place on the shorter, Indy circuit.

Leon Haslam’s first ever BSB victory came on the Brands Hatch GP circuit in 2004 when riding for Renegade Ducati.

In 2012, Shane Byrne won all five races held on the GP circuit. Josh Brookes came close to repeating this in 2015 when he won four out of five races.


Byrne has the record number of wins on the GP circuit with 15 followed by Brookes (8), John Reynolds (5) and Steve Hislop, Leon Haslam, Gregorio Lavilla and Leon Camier (all 3).

Byrne won both races in August 2016 with Haslam second in both. Luke Mossey and Jason O’Halloran were the other riders to stand on the podium.

Byrne also has the most number of podiums (26) followed by Brookes (15), James Ellison (11), Reynolds and Michael Rutter (both 9) and Haslam, Ryuichi Kiyonari, Tommy Hill and John Hopkins (all 7).

Hopkins had his best results of the 2016 season on the Brands Hatch GP circuit taking two second place finishes at the final round in October..

Lee Jackson’s best ever BSB result, fifth, was taken on the Brands Hatch GP circuit last August. Having qualified in seventh, he went better still with fifth in the first race and followed this up with sixth in the second for his best ever haul of points from a two-race weekend.

From five races on the Brands GP circuit in 2016, Michael Laverty only scored points in two races with a best finish of 11th.

Byrne scored the most points (86) in the five races held on the Brands Hatch GP circuit in 2016 followed by Haslam (64), Ellison (63), Peter Hickman (55) and Dan Linfoot (53).

The current lap record was set back in October 2011 by Brookes, his time on the TAS Suzuki 1’25.426s, 102.54mph.

Mossey set pole position last August and was inside the lap record after lapping at 1’25.383s.


However, Broc Parkes set the fastest lap in 2016 when he recorded a time of 1’24.769s during Q2 at October’s meeting. This is the fastest ever solo lap of the 2.43-mile circuit.

The fastest lap during a race on the Grand Prix circuit in 2016 was set by Byrne, 1’25.516s.

The ideal lap from last year was 1’24.423s.

Ducati and Kawasaki both won races in 2016 but Suzuki last took victory on the Brands GP circuit in 2014 with Josh Waters riding the Tyco-backed machine.

Yamaha’s last win came in 2015 (with Brookes) as did BMW (with Laverty) but Honda’s last tasted victory was back in 2011 with Byrne.

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram