Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Brands BSB: Race weekend facts, stats and pub ammunition

The Brands Hatch GP circuit has hosted at least one round of the BSB Championship every year since 1996 with the exception of 1996 and 2000 when both rounds took place on the shorter, Indy circuit.

That equates to a total of 64 BSB races.

Leon Haslam’s first ever BSB victory came on the Brands Hatch GP circuit in 2004 when riding for Renegade Ducati.


In 2012, Shane Byrne won all five races held on the GP circuit and four out of five in 2017. Josh Brookes also won four out of the five races in both 2013 and 2015.

Shane Byrne has the record number of wins on the GP circuit with 19 followed by Josh Brookes (10), John Reynolds (5) and Steve Hislop, Leon Haslam, Gregorio Lavilla and Leon Camier (all 3).

Since returning to BSB in 2016, Haslam has failed to win on the Grand Prix circuit.

Byrne also has the most number of podiums (30) followed by Brookes (17), James Ellison (14), Reynolds and Michael Rutter (both 9), Haslam (8) and Ryuichi Kiyonari, Tommy Hill and John Hopkins (all 7).

Byrne took the double victory in July last year with Dan Linfoot and James Ellison taking a second each and Leon Haslam and Christian Iddon a third apiece.

Byrne scored the maximum 50 points last July followed by Ellison (30), Haslam (27), Peter Hickman (26), Iddon (24) and Linfoot (20).

All four of Jake Dixon’s worst finishes in 2017 came at Brands Hatch – in the five races on the GP circuit, he scored just 15 points.

Glenn Irwin only scored 14 points in the five races held in 2017.

The current lap record was set in July in 2017 by Josh Brookes, the Australian recording a time of 1m24.873s, 103.21mph.


The fastest lap ever recorded around the Brands Hatch GP was by Shane Byrne who recorded a time of 1m24.163s during Q3 in October 2017.

Ducati have the most wins on the Brands Hatch GP circuit with 19, followed by Kawasaki (15), Yamaha (13), Suzuki (10), Honda (5) and BMW (2).

Ducati, with Byrne, won four of the fives races held on the Brands Hatch GP circuit in 2017.

The other race was won by Josh Brookes on a Yamaha.


Kawasaki last won on the Brands Hatch GP circuit in 2016 with Byrne.

BMW’s last victory on the Brands Hatch GP circuit was in 2015 with Michael Laverty.

Suzuki’s last win on the Brands GP circuit came in 2014 with Josh Waters.

Honda’s last victory was back in 2011 with Shane Byrne.

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram