Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


BSB Knockhill Race 3 Results | Irwin rebounds with second win of Knockhill weekend

Tim Keeton/Impact Images
2023 British Superbike Championship [BSB] | Knockhill | Race 3 Results | Round 4 / 11 Pos. Rider Nat. Team Motorcycle Time 1 Glenn Irwin GBR BeerMonster PBM Ducati Panigale V4 30 Laps 2 Tommy Bridewell GBR BeerMonster PBM Ducati Panigale V4 +0.879 3 Ryan Vickers GBR LAMI OMG Racing Yamaha R1 +3.137 4 Kyle Ryde GBR LAMI OMG Racing Yamaha R1 +7.483 5 Lee Jackson GBR Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Kawasaki ZX-10RR +9.675 6 Leon Haslam GBR ROKiT BMW Motorrad BMW M 1000 RR +9.854 7 Tom Neave GBR Honda Racing Honda CBR1000RR-R +11.396 8 Josh Brookes AUS FHO Racing BMW M 1000 RR +11.868 9 Christian Iddon GBR Oxford Racing Ducati Panigale V4 +17.964 10 Dean Harrison GBR DAO Racing Kawasaki ZX-10RR +21.255 11 Luke Mossey GBR Tactix L1 Racing Kawasaki ZX-10RR +21.784 12 Peter Hickman GBR FHO Racing BMW M 1000 RR +23.214 13 Jack Kennedy IRL Mar-Train Racing Yamaha R1 +23.560 14 Max Cook GBR Cheshire Mouldings FS-3 Kawasaki ZX-10RR +23.724 15 Hector Barbera ESP TAG Racing Honda CBR1000RR-R +41.409 DNF Charlie Nesbitt GBR MasterMac by Hawk Honda CBR1000RR-R DNF Liam Delves GBR Rapid CDH Racing Kawasaki ZX-10RR DNF Storm Stacey GBR Starline Racing Kawasaki ZX-10RR DNF Josh Owens GBR Crendon by Hawk Honda CBR1000RR-R DNF Danny Buchan GBR SYNETIQ BMW Motorrad BMW M 1000 RR DNF Jack Scott GBR Rapid CDH Racing Kawasaki ZX-10RR DNF Jason O'Halloran AUS McAMS Yamaha R1 DNS Danny Kent GBR Lovell Kent Racing Honda CBR1000RR-R W Bradley Perie GBR VisionTrack Racng Kawasaki ZX-10RR

BeerMonster Ducati’s Glenn Irwin made amends for his earlier crash to take his second victory of the weekend in the final British Superbike Championship [BSB] race at Knockhill.

The Ulsterman worked his way to the front of the field to reach the flag almost a second clear of team-mate Tommy Bridewell, with Ryan Vickers (LAMI OMG Racing Yamaha) in third for his second podium of the year.

Jason O’Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) got the jump off the line to lead into turn one and continued to lead as the field crossed the line at the end of the opening lap, the Aussie chased by Christian Iddon (Oxford Products Ducati), Bridewell, Irwin, Kyle Ryde on the second OMG machine and Danny Buchan (Synetiq BMW) slotting in behind.


O’Halloran’s lead didn’t last long though as he caught the inside kerb at Clark’s second time around and crashed out, and that handed the lead to Bridewell as Ryde moved up to second. Further back, Vickers overtook Buchan for fifth.

Bridewell continued to lead on lap six from Ryde, Iddon, Irwin, Vickers and Leon Haslam (ROKiT BMW Motorrad) but Irwin assumed third at the start of the following lap as he drove up the inside of Iddon going into turn one.

The lead stood at 0.6s after seven laps and the leading pack now consisted of six riders with seventh placed Josh Brookes (FHO Racing BMW) almost two seconds behind Haslam.

Brookes was locked in battle with Lee Jackson (Cheshire Mouldings Kawasaki), Storm Stacey (Starline Racing Kawasaki) and Tom Neave (Honda Racing).

Irwin repeated the move he did on Iddon on Ryde at the start of the tenth lap to make it a BeerMonster Ducati 1-2 and the duo held a half second advantage over Ryde who continued to resist repeated attack from Iddon at the hairpin. Meanwhile, Stacey was now up to seventh having overhauled both Brookes and Jackson, but bad luck soon struck as a technical issue forced him out on lap 14.

Back at the front and at half race distance, just 0.082s separated Bridewell and Irwin with the latter threatening to make a move at his favourite turn one but one man who did make a move was Iddon who finally found a way by Ryde at the hairpin.

Irwin took the lead from Bridewell at the start of lap 18 with the gap between the two 0.225s at two-thirds race distance but Iddon’s strong race was brought to an abrupt end when a moment on the brakes coming into the hairpin forced him to run straight on.

Irwin and Bridewell were away with it at the head of the field with a two second buffer over now Vickers, the Norfolk rider having leapfrogged his OMG Yamaha team-mate for third.

With Irwin consistently holding a half second lead over his team-mate, he duly took his fourth win of the season whilst second for Bridewell extended his championship lead to eight points.

Vickers held on for his second podium of the season in third with Ryde in fourth as Jackson got the better of Haslam for fifth. Neave took a career-best seventh place finish on the sole factory Honda ahead of Brookes, a recovering Iddon and Dean Harrison (DAO Racing Kawasaki).

BSB Knockhill | RACE 3 Results

2023 British Superbike Championship [BSB] | Knockhill | Race 3 Results | Round 4 / 11
1Glenn IrwinGBRBeerMonster PBMDucati Panigale V430 Laps
2Tommy BridewellGBRBeerMonster PBMDucati Panigale V4+0.879
3Ryan VickersGBRLAMI OMG RacingYamaha R1+3.137
4Kyle RydeGBRLAMI OMG RacingYamaha R1+7.483
5Lee JacksonGBRCheshire Mouldings FS-3Kawasaki ZX-10RR+9.675
6Leon HaslamGBRROKiT BMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR+9.854
7Tom NeaveGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+11.396
8Josh BrookesAUSFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR+11.868
9Christian IddonGBROxford RacingDucati Panigale V4+17.964
10Dean HarrisonGBRDAO RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+21.255
11Luke MosseyGBRTactix L1 RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+21.784
12Peter HickmanGBRFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR+23.214
13Jack KennedyIRLMar-Train RacingYamaha R1+23.560
14Max CookGBRCheshire Mouldings FS-3Kawasaki ZX-10RR+23.724
15Hector BarberaESPTAG RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+41.409
DNFCharlie NesbittGBRMasterMac by HawkHonda CBR1000RR-R
DNFLiam DelvesGBRRapid CDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR
DNFStorm StaceyGBRStarline RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR
DNFJosh OwensGBRCrendon by HawkHonda CBR1000RR-R
DNFDanny BuchanGBRSYNETIQ BMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR
DNFJack ScottGBRRapid CDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR
DNFJason O'HalloranAUSMcAMSYamaha R1
DNSDanny KentGBRLovell Kent RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R
WBradley PerieGBRVisionTrack RacngKawasaki ZX-10RR

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram