Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


BSB Oulton Park Race 1 Results | Brookes holds off Haslam as rain stops play

Josh Brookes, FHO Racing, BMW M 1000 RR, Oulton Park, 2023 BSB, action [credit/ Impact/Tim Keeton]

Josh Brookes extended his lead at the top of the British Superbike Championship table on Sunday afternoon with the FHO racing BMW rider taking victory in the opening race of the weekend at Oulton Park.

Brookes got the verdict from Leon Haslam (ROKiT BMW Motorrad) and Glenn Irwin (BeerMonster Ducati) in a race which was stopped on the penultimate lap due to rain falling at Shell Oils Corner.

It was Brookes who got the holeshot and he led into Old Hall from Storm Stacey (Starline Racing Kawasaki) and Haslam with the latter quickly moving into second as they swept round Island. Glenn Irwin then pushed the Kawasaki rider back another place at Hizzy’s.


Jason O’Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) grabbed fourth at Lodge but his race was soon over as he highsided on the exit of Cascades and the running order at the end of the second lap was Brookes, Haslam, Glenn Irwin, Peter Hickman on the second FHO Racing machine, Andrew Irwin (Honda Racing) and Stacey. Danny Kent (Lovell Kent Racing Honda) was now in seventh with Tommy Bridewell (BeerMonster Ducati) up to 11th from 15th on the grid.

Back at the front and the leading trio of Brookes, Haslam and Glenn Irwin had opened up a two-second gap over fourth-placed Hickman with Kent up to sixth on lap three and Bridewell ninth. The latter then moved up to sixth on the fourth lap.

By lap six, half race distance, Hickman had cut the gap to the leading trio – which remained Brookes, Haslam and Irwin – to one second and Bridewell was now the fastest man on the circuit with a lap of 1’34.689 which put him just half a second behind Andrew Irwin.

Brookes continued to lead the way but by lap eight Haslam was right on his rear wheel with just 1.3s now covering the top four. Bridewell was a further three seconds back with Andrew Irwin still in sixth and there was then a six second gap to new seventh placed man Kyle Ryde (LAMI OMG Racing Yamaha) who had moved ahead of Christian Iddon (Oxford Products Racing Ducati).

Going into the final third of the race, there was still little to choose between the front three with Hickman still half a second in arrears but Brookes continued to keep everyone at arm’s length and rain was now falling on the far side of the circuit at Shell.

Indeed, the race was red flagged on the penultimate lap which meant Brookes took his second win of the season with Haslam claiming his first podium of 2023 in second. Glenn Irwin got third from Hickman, Bridewell and Andrew Irwin whilst further back Ryde held on for seventh ahead of Iddon, Stacey and Lee Jackson (Cheshire Mouldings Kawasaki).

Charlie Nesbitt, Jack Kennedy, Luke Mossey, Tom Neave and Kent completed the points scorers.

BSB Oulton Park - Race 1 Results

2023 British Superbike Championship [BSB] | Oulton Park | Race 1 Results | Round 2 / 11
1Josh BrookesAUSFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR10 Laps
2Leon HaslamGBRROKiT BMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR+0.186
3Glenn IrwinGBRBeerMonster PBMDucati Panigale V4+0.441
4Peter HickmanGBRFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR+1.152
5Tommy BridewellGBRBeerMonster PBMDucati Panigale V4+4.790
6Andrew IrwinGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+4.977
7Kyle RydeGBRLAMI OMG RacingYamaha R1+13.661
8Christian IddonGBROxford RacingDucati Panigale V4+13.784
9Storm StaceyGBRStarline RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+13.987
10Lee JacksonGBRCheshire Mouldings FS-3Kawasaki ZX-10RR+14.093
11Charlie NesbittGBRMasterMac by HawkHonda CBR1000RR-R+16.163
12Jack KennedyIRLMar-Train RacingYamaha R1+17.418
13Luke MosseyGBRTactix L1 RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+17.690
14Tom NeaveGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+22.663
15Danny KentGBRLovell Kent RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+26.627
16Josh OwensGBRCrendon by HawkHonda CBR1000RR-R+26.713
17Dean HarrisonGBRDAO RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+26.957
18Tim NeaveGBRMcAMSYamaha R1+27.428
19Luke StaplefordGBRLAMI OMG RacingYamaha R1+27.717
20Max CookGBRCheshire Mouldings FS-3Kawasaki ZX-10RR+27.959
21Hector BarberaESPTAG RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+38.849
22Bradley PerieGBRVisionTrack RacngKawasaki ZX-10RR+39.135
23Jack ScottGBRRapid CDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+39.699
24Davey ToddGBRMilenco by PadgettsHonda CBR1000RR-R+42.459
25Liam DelvesGBRRapid CDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+1 lap
26Brian McCormackIRLRoadhouse Macau / FHOBMW M 1000 RR+1 lap
DNFMichael DunlopGBRHawk RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R
DNFJason O'HalloranAUSMcAMSYamaha R1

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram