Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


BSB Snetterton Qualifying | O'Hallaron pole, Rabat stars, disaster for OMG

Tim Keeton/Impact Images
Jason O'Halloran, McAMS Yamaha, Yamaha R1, 2023 BSB, Snetterton, action [credit - Tim Keeton/Impact Images]

Jason O’Halloran claimed pole position for the first British Superbike Championship race of the weekend at Snetterton, though the McAMS Yamaha rider's spotlight was stolen by new team-mate Tito Rabat after a mighty lap good enough for the front row.

With O'Halloran on pole and ex-MotoGP rider Rabat taking third, the front row is completed by Glenn Irwin (BeerMonster Ducati) slotting in between the two R1s.

But it was a disaster for the LAMI OMG Racing Yamaha pairing of Kyle Ryde and Ryan Vickers, with Ryde only managing 16th and Vickers crashing early on to end up 18th.


Q1 got proceedings underway, and it was Rabat, Danny Kent, Luke Mossey, Jack Kennedy, Charlie Nesbitt and Tom Neave who progressed, Rabat posting a strong lap of 1’48.334, but it was O’Halloran who put the hammer down first in Q2 with a stunning 1’47.111s.

That put him four tenths of a second quicker than Rabat, who continued to get quicker with each lap, with Tommy Bridewell on the second BeerMonster Ducati, Nesbitt and Josh Brookes next up on the leaderboard, but Vickers crashed out at Agostini on just his second lap.

Irwin was the first to respond to O’Halloran’s flyer with a lap of 1’47.373 moving him up to second and a quarter of a second adrift of his Yamaha rival. Rabat, Bridewell, Kennedy and Nesbitt now ran in third to sixth.

Brookes then became the fifth rider to lap in the 1’47 bracket albeit almost a second behind O’Halloran’s lap which was looking stronger and stronger as the session wore on. Ryde, meanwhile, found himself back in 12th and although Leon Haslam was down in 18th, he jumped up to fifth with two minutes to go.

O’Halloran put in a lap of 1’47.153 late on to ram home his dominance and his earlier time remained unchallenged as he claimed pole ahead of Irwin and Rabat with Bridewell holding on to fourth ahead of Brookes and Haslam. Nesbitt, Kent, Kennedy and Danny Buchan completed the top ten.

2023 British Superbike Championship [BSB] | Snetterton | Qualifying Results | Round 5 / 11
1Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMSYamaha R11m 47.111
2Glenn IrwinGBRBeerMonster PBMDucati Panigale V41m 47.373
3Tito RabatESPMcAMSYamaha R11m 47.456
4Tommy BridewellGBRBeerMonster PBMDucati Panigale V41m 47.719
5Josh BrookesAUSFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR1m 47.754
6Leon HaslamGBRROKiT BMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR1m 48.032
7Charlie NesbittGBRMasterMac by HawkHonda CBR1000RR-R1m 48.162
8Danny KentGBRLovell Kent RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R1m 48.215
9Jack KennedyIRLMar-Train RacingYamaha R11m 48.249
10Danny BuchanGBRSYNETIQ BMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR1m 48.307
11Christian IddonGBROxford RacingDucati Panigale V41m 48.311
12Max CookGBRCheshire Mouldings FS-3Kawasaki ZX-10RR1m 48.351
13Lee JacksonGBRCheshire Mouldings FS-3Kawasaki ZX-10RR1m 48.407
14Luke MosseyGBRTactix L1 RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 48.428
15Tom NeaveGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R1m 48.450
16Kyle RydeGBRLAMI OMG RacingYamaha R11m 48.673
17Peter HickmanGBRFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR1m 48.981
18Ryan VickersGBRLAMI OMG RacingYamaha R11m 51.080
19Bradley PerieGBRVisionTrack RacngKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 48.964
20Dean HarrisonGBRDAO RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 48.972
21Josh OwensGBRCrendon by HawkHonda CBR1000RR-R1m 48.980
22Hector BarberaESPTAG RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R1m 48.991
23Storm StaceyGBRStarline RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 49.192
24Jack ScottGBRRapid CDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 49.510
25Franco BourneGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R1m 49.750
26Liam DelvesGBRRapid CDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 50.440

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram