Welcome to the beta version of the new Women & Golf website. Our web monkeys are still hard at work and welcome your feedback.  


Donington BSB: Race weekend stats, facts and pub ammo

A roundup of all the important facts ahead of Bennetts British Superbike Championship’s visit to Donington Park

Donington Park has hosted 75 British Superbike Championship races to date, seeing 26 different race winners and 49 different podium finishers.

This is the fourth year in a row the Donington Park National circuit has hosted a BSB round.


Last year’s races on the Donington Park National circuit saw three different race winners – Tarran Mackenzie, Tommy Bridewell and Jason O’Halloran.

Glenn Irwin and Honda have finished second in five of the last six races to take place on the National layout.

The first six races in the 2022 series have seen three different race winners and eight different riders stand on the podium.

Victory last time out at Oulton Park for Lee Jackson came in his 142nd BSB race start.

Bradley Ray has taken five podiums so far in 2022; this is exactly a third of his career total.

Second place in the final race at Oulton Park was Tommy Bridewell’s 61st BSB podium whilst third place in race two saw Leon Haslam move on to a career total of 103.

Only four riders in this weekend’s entry have previously won BSB races on the Donington Park National circuit – Andrew Irwin (two), Tommy Bridewell (two) and Tarran Mackenzie and Jason O’Halloran (one each).

Andrew Irwin’s last BSB win was on the Donington Park GP circuit in October 2020.

Irwin’s only podium in 2021 came at the Donington Park National circuit.


Shane Byrne has won more BSB races (eight) at Donington than any other rider and is followed by Niall Mackenzie and John Reynolds (both six), Scott Redding (five) and Chris Walker, Michael Rutter, Ryuichi Kiyonari and Leon Haslam (all four).

John Reynolds and Shane Byrne have taken the most podiums (16) at Donington followed by Leon Haslam (12), Josh Brookes (11), Chris Walker (ten), Niall Mackenzie and Steve Hislop (both nine) and Michael Rutter, James Haydon, Ryuichi Kiyonari and Tommy Bridewell (all eight).

Bradley Ray made his BSB debut on the Donington Park GP circuit in 2017. He also scored his first BSB wins at the circuit in 2018.

Leon Haslam will make his 200th BSB start in the second race at Donington Park this weekend.


Storm Stacey (sixth) and Dean Harrison (eighth) both scored their best ever BSB result on the Donington Park National circuit last year.

Ducati is the most successful manufacturer at Donington Park with 33 wins followed by Yamaha (15), Suzuki (ten), Honda (eight), Kawasaki (seven) and BMW (two).

The last three years on the Donington Park National circuit have seen wins for Ducati (five), Yamaha (two) and Honda (two)

Suzuki last won at Donington Park in October 2021 with Gino Rea.

October 2021 was also Yamaha’s last win at the circuit, with Tarran Mackenzie.

Ducati last won at Donington Park in 2021 with Tommy Bridewell.

Honda’s last victory at Donington Park came with Andrew Irwin in October 2020.

Kawasaki last won at Donington in 2017 with Leon Haslam.

BMW were last victorious at Donington in 2014 when Ryuichi Kiyonari won both races. These are the German manufacturer’s only BSB wins at the circuit.

Articles you may like


More British Superbikes

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram